You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's Talk Flags With @ScottCBusiness

in #steem6 years ago

Can flagging be reduced to what the name implies, a flag. Meaning something is unique about a particular user. Different colors of flags for different reasons. For example, if I happen to have a strong opinion on the use of bots, one way, and someone else disagrees, that person could throw a “purple” flag. This would indicate to others my position at a glance rather than them wasting time on me. I also think each persons quiver of flags be limited as to number and color. That would, in theory, put value on them and make one think about frivolously using them. Furthermore if a number preceded a flag icon in a users header it would indicate the number of users that agree with the flag “thrown”. Then, we as free thinking, self governing individuals can decide whether or not to follow, mute or just move on.

I agree fully with @cpnjacksparrow and his view of “digital property” and what gives “you” the right to mess with it. The US Constitution guaranties freedom of religion, aka my personal beliefs. Also theres the whole freedom of speach thing. This doesn’t guarantee you to be heard, only to say what’s on your mind. I realize that Steemit is global and the US Con. isn’t the ultimate, but there is a reason why people from all over, have, do, and will flock here.

As is, the flag, has way to much power and something needs to be done. Maybe just one per customer. I know there are bad actors who may have more than one account. But when there is a will there is a way, and multi account users could be known. Perhaps they could have there own flag color. I suggest baby poop green.

I appreciate your desire to open conversation on this issue. And hopefully we, the mature adults, who don’t respond with knee jerk reactions, can find a solution that works for the platform. Keep up the good work.

Sort:  

Yeah I was worried I may be penalized for bringing it up but hey it's about improving and free speech. I only want to make things better for everyone, bottom line. I do think tiered flags would make sense. Also I want to just say that multi accounts isn't really an issue. Some people differentiate their content. For example here I try to do only useful value driven content with the occasional change up with like philosophy or something. On my music account @scottychams I ONLY post music more or less. This way people can follow either account based on their interests. Actually not only is multi accounts not bad, it's more challenging for me as a user because my audiences are spread out and I have much more work to handle.

An absolutely solid reason for someone to have multiple accounts, gives me ideas as I face that dilemma.

its easy and inexpensive to make one. I've got articles on different ways you can if you'd like a link that I've wrote

Yeah the link would be appreciated. Thanks man!

You can do it via blocktrades easiest or anonsteem. https://steemit.com/steemit/@scottcbusiness/bypass-steemit-signup-use-multiple-accounts-or-get-verified-faster

I thought I had a demo for blocktrades so today I'll write one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65811.20
ETH 3178.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54