Daily Gratitude

in #steem5 years ago

1/31/2019 I’m sitting at #Haymarket Cafe in #Northampton, MA. I notice a man notice me. I find a seat, I order a sandwich and a coffee. This man is squinting hopelessly at a menu. I’m full I don’t want to finish the other half of my sandwich. I invite him to sit with me and eat. He lights up! “Yes!” he says and eyes widen. “Thank you! I’m Steve. What’s your name?”. “Jim”, I tell him.

I wake up this morning and it’s -11 degrees outside. By the time I get out to start the car it’s warmed to -2.

Steve tells me he’s lost two #friends to the cold. “They #froze to #death.” he tells me matter-of-factly. “I’m looking for a place to #die” he says, with just as much #detachment.

This morning I am #grateful to #share. I am grateful that I woke up in a #warm place. I am grateful I woke up! I am grateful for the #life that I have, all the ways it is and all the ways it isn’t. I am grateful to #listen. I’m grateful for the #problems I have. I am grateful to I am able to choose #bigger problems.

fullsizeoutput_2473.jpeg

Sort:  

That was a wonderful thing to do. It made both of you happy along with anyone reading it. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44