You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The power of buying steem, help.... !

in #steem8 years ago

but only if you do it right, otherwise could you lose the lot?

You never lose SP by voting people's posts. So don't worry about that. The payback formula is complicated, like really complicated, and it's dynamic because as the price of Steem changes and as the amount of people who have Powered Up their Steem changes, that affects your payouts.

I have all my Steem in Steem Power. I am long term believer in Steem and I want to influence how the site grows and be able to help people like you out with my votes. That's my choice.

For the less risk averse, the best way to invest in Steem is probably just to write great posts and make great content that helps the community. All you are risking is your time and you get paid 50% in Steem Power and 50% in SBD.

I would say I would not hold unpowered Steem, unless you are an experienced trader. You should turn it into SP or SBD or BTC.

Does this post help or did I make things more confusing?

Sort:  

Hi @eeks I'm a newbie that happens to be following @gowersgirl
I'm really trying to follow along and learn the ins and outs of steemit. It's slow going but totally fascinating. The only way my brain can comprehend the payouts and vote weight is comparing it to the stock market. Some days are good and some days it's in the toilet. That's part of "the game" right? So I'll just write and share on my social sites and see where it goes. Thank you for taking the time to explain. It's appreciated.

ermm honestly... probably made it worse. I can understand the best way is to write great posts bit. but the rest has flown over my head. I wish I was a geek ! ... I bet you are either thinking i'm very thick or just laughing in general at me. You would probably be warranted in the laughing, I am not thick , I have a degree but wow this is hard going.. :)

I don't think you are thick at all. The economic model is very complicated here. I am pretty sure everyone has it wrong wrt the market cap of Steem and that Steem and Steem Power should not be treated as being valued the same for instance. But everyone does.

Just focus on writing good things. That's the no-brainer answer.

If you really believe in Steem long term, than having more Steem Power makes sense. But in the future if you need help, ping me or direct message me in the slack and I'll try and help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65858.36
ETH 3493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53