Steemit is Crap; Steem is Amazing

in #steem6 years ago (edited)


poop  money.jpg

I've spent a lot of time complaining about Steemit and Steem. Steemit needs a lot more work and Steem's stake-weighted mining system is very centralized. Steem claims to be proof-of-brain but that theory is not enforced by any mechanic other than an honor system. We trust the investors of Steem to make the right decisions, and sometimes we get burned. However, let's look at Steem from a programmer's perspective.


3rd party.png

The more I look at the Steem API the more blown away I am. Third party websites for the Steem blockchain are popping up like wildfire (dtube, dlive, etc). The closer I inspect the blockchain, the more I realize that even Steemit is just third party software for Steem. All of the building blocks exist here to make amazing programs. Just check out steemtools and the api to see for yourself. It's an untapped goldmine here at Steem and I plan to start swinging my pickax.


python.png

First of all, Steem has a great Application Protocol Interface (API) for Python. I haven't used Python in years but it's been my favorite scripting language of all time. It's very easy to work with. Also, there are multiple public databases connected to the blockchain that make it very easy to acquire the data needed to design a powerful app. I'm a little amazed that there aren't more impressive programs available to the public yet, but I'm currently working on something that I'm very excited about.


scarcity_large.jpg

My ultimate goal here is to take this community from a scarcity mindset to one of abundance. I asked a long time friend to help me with some designs and his first response was, "How do I know you won't Zuckerburg me?" This is what happens when society throws you under the bus.

My friend is talented but lacks the resolve to suck up to the broken corporate world that we live in. He is paranoid about everything because he's been fucked over his whole life. Most of us have. I aim to show that we can all work together and make money doing so. Cooperation trumps competition in the right setting, and The Blockchain is the perfect platform. I aim to make proof-of-brain a reality; where people are paid fairly for their work using metrics of actual work ethic instead of the garbage paid-by-the-hour system that is widely employed today.

heart work.jpg

I used to be very depressed about the state of the world. I used to play video games 8-12 hours a day. Addiction is the result of a greater problem, it can not be treated directly. The Blockchain has shown me the light at the end of a long and dark tunnel, and I am racing toward it. I uninstalled all my games and work all day everyday. I'm not stressed out at all. I love this 'job'... soon to be real job.

In the meantime I'll be documenting my progress as I learn how interface with the Steem blockchain. Programming has a long and arduous learning curve. I know a lot of this stuff is way over the head of the average user so I'll try to make it as simple as possible. Continue following my posts and I'll show you the true power of this amazing platform.

Sort:  

Wow i love your thoughts man! I was playing alot of computer games a cuple of years ago. Nowdays i just play HS occasionally and focus on crypto mostly =) Anyhow I admire what you are trying to achieve, to bad that I don't know any programing/coding. I would have loved to help you out!

Knowledge/information should be free and available to everyone!! (The content creators will of course be rewarded in one way or another)

Great read, looking forward to this project of yours! Haven't heard of dlive before and cant find it on google search - do you have a link?

That happens to me all the time as well. Remember to use the Steemit search if you cant find it on Google.
https://steemit.com/@dlive

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Edicted from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.21
ETH 3068.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81