You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🎥 How much STEEM Power should every Steemian have?

in #steem5 years ago

This is an impossible question to answer. How many users do you want using Steem? If the answer is 300 million then each person would only get one coin with a perfectly even distribution.

We need to be less focused on how many coins people have and more concerned about how inflation is being distributed. Theoretically if a big enough portion of the community can come to consensus, proof-of-brain could actually be implemented.

The real problem with crypto has, and always will be, coming to consensus. A very large group of people have to agree before they can move forward. This is easy to achieve with objective algorithms like proof of stake and proof of work, but proof of brain is totally subjective.

Sort:  

Perfect notes !

@edicted, thank you for commenting! Great answer! I know that my question (in the video) is very philosophical one. And it is very hard to find the right answer.
Yeah, to be honest I would like to see 100 or 200 millions of Steem users in 5 to 10 years time. I am curious what would be the amount of SP the median user has (in that case).

What is the proof-of-brain consensus above? Could you send me a link to read about it? Or could you try to explain me in a few words?
To be honest, at the moment, I think proof-of-work is the best consensus algorithm for a cryptocurrency. I am not pretty sure if STEEM is crypto, or a kind of utility token. But in a long run the boundaries between cryptocurrency and utility token may be diluted.

Yeah, the inflation of STEEM is a topic that I have thought about many many times. I still don't have a clear answer on this issue. Many people think that the inflation of STEEM at current levels between 8% and 9% is quite high...But it is diminishing slowly. Also, ETH (and even to some extent BTC) has inflation. Yeah, probably the absence of Total Supply Limit makes STEEM a bit less attractive to investors... I don't know. It is something that bothers me, as well. But, it could turn out that for such kind of tokenized ecosystem, it is better if there is no limit of the Total Supply. I still have no clear answer to this issue.

Thank you @edicted for the very interesting comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61766.85
ETH 3081.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82