Hyperloop… We're gonna need a better crypto!

in #steem8 years ago

My Next Car

I must admit, I still drive a gas guzzler. Having that said, I would prefer to have an all electric vehicle that got 500 miles on a single charge and all the creature comforts that technology has to offer in a modern production vehicle. However, when I first heard of Hyperloop, I was impressed, but at the time it was all so speculative. There were drawings, and conferences but no real progress towards a working model that was in use. But it's here:

>

OK, so it's not really complete but much further along than I expected! Now Hyperloop Transportation Technologies (HTT) is building a prototype system to support transportation in California's central valley that is intended to be fully operational, generating sustainable revenue not just for the current system, but for future expansion projects as well. Still, when this thing gets up and running, I'll be one of the first in line. That's when I make my decision to buy a new car or start using the newly minted hyperloop systems. I sure hope they have made some headway by then, it would make the decision so much easier. So the buzz is that HTT is looking for additional seed capital in the neighborhood of $100MM. Hmmm... keep that in mind.

"Enough is Enough...Coins!"

There are many frivolous coins in the cryptocurrency marketplace these days, too numerous to mention (Can you say "PiggyCoin?"). I can't think of anyone has given their child a "Training" dollar-bill, which is the reasoning behind the digital coin. But this coin is not alone there are others who have no more utility, but may only have a "cooler" name. According to www.cryptocoincharts.info, the list stands at 3366, with a total 24h volume of 278,749.63 BTC and $551,438,231,368.33 in USD market cap. I think that we could argue the point that if Steem (STEEM) went from a market cap of $32mm to nearly $300mm in a two week span, HTT could easily farm out a true "coin of utility" in no time at all.

One Coin to Rule Them All

So, with Elon Musk's cocktail napkin drawing coming to fruition, shouldn't we be heading for a more useful, robust and ubiquitous crypto to serve the coming transportation paradigm? Moreover, a currency that we can actually use. One that is faster than cash or credit cards, spends like cash but is easier to use than today's crypto.I believe we as coin enthusiasts, should quit investing in coins that make no more sense than the four top examples? That would allow us to make more meaningful use of the combined investment capital that is wasted on inferior coins.

That's just my two cents. Let me know what YOU think!





  • Photo Credit: www.ichef.bbci.co.uk
  • Photo Credit: s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com
  • Art Credit: www.piggy-coin.com
  • Sort:  

    I don't get it. What's the Hyperloop/Crypto connection? Are you saying Hyperloop ought to be selling crypto tokens to secure funding? Would that be better somehow than them just selling shares?

    I mean, if there was a crypto-token that was supposed to function as a free Hyperloop pass in 2036, I would totally buy in.

    Yes, that exactly the point. Many people are putting their cash into nonsense coins, when the money could be better leveraged to actually benefit society. IMHO And those smaller companies need those cash injections without the terrible deals that venture capital lures in.

    my organization is working on hyperloop and crypto/blockchain platform!

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.20
    TRX 0.13
    JST 0.030
    BTC 65762.16
    ETH 3485.95
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 2.50