Why Steem And BitShares Are Drastically Under Evaluated

in #steem7 years ago

Steem is the most active blockchain in the world. No, it's not wishful thinking and no, I'm not kidding you.

Compared with Bitcoin, Ethereum and other crypto "giants", Steem is on top of them, in terms of absolute number of transactions. And now there's a website to prove this.

Introducing blocktivity.info, a project by Steemian @blocktivity. The site aggregates the transactions (just the number of them, as far as I understand) and creates a few very, very interesting metrics starting from that number.

Let's take them one at a time. First, let's look at Activity Matrix:


Screen Shot 2018-01-01 at 10.15.39 PM.png


As you can see, Steem is on top of the list, before Ethereum and Bitcoin. As far as I understand, the market cap and the price in fiat is pulled from coinmarketcap in real time, but all the other metrics are refreshed every 24 hours. In this chart there are a few other metrics, but I leave you the pleasure to discover them

Onward to the total number of transactions (which is different from the Activity Matrix above).


Screen Shot 2018-01-01 at 10.15.51 PM.png


Here, we learn that 40% of the entire number of blockchain transactions are performed on the Steem blockchain. Which means even the transaction in which this post was published, or your vote was casted or your comment was added, are part of this huge ecosystem. It's also worthy of interest to note the presence of BitShares, with no less than 12.9%, more than Bitcoin.

But my favorite chart is this one:


Screen Shot 2018-01-01 at 10.15.55 PM.png


Although Steem accounts for 40% of the total of the blockchain transactions in the world, its market cap is only 0.3%. BitShares shares this faith (pun intended) with only 0.6%.

I don't know what you think when you look at that chart, but I'm thinking: "if only people will stop buying FUD and HYPE, and look at what really matters, I bet the top 5 crypto currencies in the world will look way better. Way, way better".


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


If you're new to Steemit, you may find these articles relevant (that's also part of my witness activity to support new members of the platform):

Sort:  

I knew about Steem but the surprise was Bitshares transaction volume....

My belief in Steem, Bitshares and EOS is great. All related somehow due to involvement of Dan. It is true that Steem is undervalued.

I hope you remember the discussion we had about Steem and I said I see Steem going $50 at the end of 2018. You asked for my reasons. Well, here are my 5 reasons why Steem is going big in 2017.

Just read it. Nice one, I agree with all 5 points.

Thank you. Always a pleasure to learn and talk.

I think 2018 will be the year steem is discovered by mainstream as ethereum and bitcoin and ripple and litecoin were in 2017.

It has been very exciting today regarding the growth of the steem, we are pending until what will rise: D

This is actually really promising information. I figured that Steem accounted for a lot of blockchain interactions but I couldn't imagine that it is THIS much. It is only going to get higher as more people inevitably join the site as well.

This is is something that I am going to show people when they doubt the "validity" of Steem as a blockchain.

Forgot to check it today, looks like today was a record day with the transactions due to the price/volume increase. Great to see.

if only people will stop buying FUD and HYPE, and look at what really matters, I bet the top 5 crypto currencies in the world will look way better. Way, way better

And much steemians would be rich, but life would be too easy then :))

i think this aspect of steem is not yet mainstreamed people only see the prices if we are also not on steem we will not see this perceptive of the steem but with the price rise they will see it getting more popularize

Steem & EOS will out perform these in long run. These duo have much more potential than other blockchains.

#bitcoin
So is it true that bitcoin prices go up again

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56519.24
ETH 2991.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16