Steem.Supply Update: How Much SBD And How Much STEEM You Actually Get In Rewards?

in #steem7 years ago

Screen Shot 2017-12-17 at 7.31.12 PM.png


Since the SBD pump started, 3 weeks ago, a few witnesses adjusted their price feed bias (me included) in order to shift the rewards towards more SBD. In other words, more SBDs are "printed", to increase supply, in an attempt to bring SBD back to the peg.

This change affected the amounts you're getting, or, to be more precise, the SBD / STEEM ratio in the rewards. Until now, steem.supply assumed all rewards are paid 50/50, which is not true anymore. You're getting more SBDs.

So, after fiddling a bit with the inner workings of the Steem blockchain, I finally found a way to correctly calculate the SBD / STEEM ratio. It's displayed right after the SBD / STEEM rapport.

Please keep in mind that what you see is the current rewards split, but this can change from the moment you're posting, until the moment you cash out.

For instance, at the moment of writing, the SBD / STEEM ratio is 67 / 33, which means the rewards you're getting for posts published now will fall under this ratio: for every dollar you see in the interface, you get 0.67 SBD and 0.33 STEEM (out of the 75% dedicated to authors, that is). But this ratio is dynamic and posts published before and after may use a different ratio.

Nevertheless, I tested a few scenarios and it seems these numbers are way more accurate than the initial ones.

As always, looking forward to your suggestions, criticism and feedback.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


If you're new to Steemit, you may find these articles relevant (that's also part of my witness activity to support new members of the platform):

Sort:  

I'm not sure this is a good idea. Every time people tries handle a free market event to correct something something really bad happened.

Didn't know they started printing more SBD... Well, I feel this would be a good thing though.. Thanks for the post.

I've just needed this article..thanks..

Amazing post dear Steemian...I resteem it keep it up.I'm New in Steemit Community Please Follow me And Upvote Me. I'm Very Thankful If You Follow me.I'm Your Follower.Once Again Thanks My Dear friend.

Is it true that the peg was removed so sbd went up like crazy?

Thanks for the info was new to me, good work.

Thanks for the post.really helpful us.

The latest updates are nice quality of life improvemets. Cheers man, have a nice Sunday.

its mean when we get a vote our post of 1$ its mean its 60 percent to sbd and 40 or less than make steem power but we see 50/50 @dragosroua

When you publish, you choose 50/50,that is true, but because of the current price feed bias, this is not happening. The ratio is skewed in favor of SBD, and you get 67% SBD and 33% STEEM. This ratio is dynamic and it changes along with the price feed bias.

Once the witnesses adjust their price feed bias back, the ratio will be again 50 / 50.

Is this for everyone, or do we have to do choose or vote for someone to get this?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62102.31
ETH 2432.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67