Smart Media Tokens Code Going Well And A Twitter Clone On Top Of Steemit - Two Gems From The Steem Repo

in #steem7 years ago

One of my favorite pastimes - when I do have some free blocks of time to spend, which doesn't happen very often - is to peruse Steem's GitHub repo. It's like peeking through door while your parents are arranging the presents under the Christmas tree. You get to see a lot of cool stuff.

So here are a two things that I saw this morning:

  • SMT (Smart Media Tokens) creation is advancing very fast. I didn't expect to see so much work on this feature, because, from the white paper, I got the impression the launch is "sometimes in 2018". But looking at how the code advances, I think it may be sooner. I didn't see any fixed hardfork date yet, so this is just speculation, but there are a lot of pull requests and tasks related to this. The blockchain version for this specific release is 0.21, as you can see from the screenshot below.

Screen Shot 2017-10-13 at 9.36.01 AM.png


There is also an intermediate version 0.20, but there is no description and there are no tasks attached to it yet.

  • the post limit may be lowered, allowing for a Twitter-like project built on top of Steemit. As you can see from the issue below, devs are taking into account a new way of limiting user posting. Right now, there is a 5 minutes limit to your posts, which makes a Twitter clone very difficult to create.

Screen Shot 2017-10-13 at 9.33.56 AM.png


So, as you can see, things are happening and are happening faster than expected. I'm really looking forward to the SMT release.

Steem on!


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


If you're new to Steemit, you may find these articles relevant (that's also part of my witness activity to support new members of the platform):

Sort:  

I was asking myself whether frequency of posting constraint is a blockchain (backend) code or implemented on the frontend. Now I can assume that it is a backend code limiting the posts, isn't it?

Looks like more rules and math are in store for us :)

Devs are thinkinking in algorithms and formulas way too much.

It is a backend thing. I remember that at some point there was some white spam (posting incessantly for days, meaningless stuff) from a Russian guy, until they implemented this.

Free "blocks" of time to spend... Yeah I liked that! I understand that you're a busy person and I just want to take a little bit of your time and do something that's a little unexpected but I am here asking you for support because I'm a Steemian who's here for the long run and I just need a little financial support (to be honest). I see some people creating amazing content that's original and getting regular upvotes and I wish I could get some kind of consistent support to enable me to keep writing and posting because I have a lot of content that I want to share on the Steemit platform and help increase the network effect, but I don't have enough support to make this something I do full time. Can you help me out? Maybe you could put me on your automated curation trail? Sorry again for putting you on the spot. I'm in Africa and I don't really have much resources.

@dragosroua Thank You for the Update this is Very Exciting................

I do not understand where the difficulty is? Who is spaming twitter posts every minute anyway? P.s. Vety excited about SMT we are doing one for sure!

Who is spaming twitter posts every minute anyway?

You do not get "money" for tweeting on Twitter ;) Or SMTs in a near future ...

What i have meant, that 5 minute window for a normal user tweet is totally acceptable. Main tweet post 5 minutes = OK. Comment 3 seconds = OK. Do not see why it should not work. Maybe something else i do not know.

Maybe restrictions linked with reputation points?

Possible, but after Velocity Hardfork, there will be other posting restrictions in place, that will vary based on the user. Now you need steem to create an account which allocates certain bandwidth, after "effortless on boarding" is implemented user will have to "earn" his bandwidth as it will not require any steem to create an account. So i guess we have to wait and see.

Tweet replies (conversations) can happen quickly

Comments are happening quickly too, i think people would be ok with a 3 second limit.

Comments can happen quickly because they are folded under the root post so they don't fill Steemit's 'created' listing. If a bot can make a root post every 3 seconds that essentially renders the 'created' pages useless.

So if you consider a tweet as a root post that can be made every five minutes and all replies as comment under the root post with 3 second window wouldn't that work? or did i get it wrong?

Yes that would be a workaround. The discussion in the github issues was about should we use work arounds or change the limits.

Ok, i was thinking this is not a workaround but expected behaviour. Sorry for bothering you and thanks for your replies!

Your welcome. Basically on twitter everyone is shouting at each other with root posts and then twitter tries to make it seem like a discussion with the UI. I think it makes Twitter much less friendly. Personally i hope we can do better.

impressive

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62332.64
ETH 3006.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94