You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why the price of Steem is surging.

in #steem7 years ago

Calling it vanity is a good comparison. But I'm not sure if it is good that Steem could be too independent from Steem Dollar. It might turn around the ratio for good when Steemit expands into the Mainstream and make Steem Dollar sort of an irrelevant asset as it is right now Steem when it comes to promoting articles instead of taking the 50/50 option.

Something else which I was wondering a (steemit-)long time about and which I got confirmed here is the disturbing fact of witnesses actively manipulating the Steem Dollar price - at least in the past. I'm wondering if they still do it or are able to do it at all. I will probably write an inquiry to the witnesses to find out. After all, it smells fishy and could be illegal.

Sort:  

I am usually skeptical of market manipulation stories. You can move the market with real buys and sells, but in my view it is not possible in a way which leaves with a profit. On the other hand market manipulation is where you change the of an asset by buying or selling it at a key time, in order to affect the price of another asset. An example would be a trader buying spot to affect the settlement price of a future.

If I understand it correctly, they don't/didn't do it for profit but for the "greater good" of the platform. When you are willing to lose money so others can't win you can surely break things.

When you look at the longer run of the SBD price you can clearly see it was pegged until their peg got broken on Nov 22nd by a Korean exchange.

The question is: What keeps them from pegging the price again? For example at 9SBD per 1 US$. To me it kind of looks like that and they do it by inflating the currency. Did you notice the big gains you can get for upvotes lately? All that gets pushed on the market to keep the price down.

I could be wrong, but this all feels to me as if they are willing to go on "printing" SBD to keep the price ratio to the US-$ stable again. I guess I'll have to wrap my head around the article first that discusses the matter..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59391.37
ETH 2525.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47