You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Voting is a popularity contest

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

Well said. Figuratively speaking, we need to sell newspapers. A story about a famine in Africa does not sell as many copies as a story about a beautiful woman (and the editor screams, "get her tits above the fold"). If it isn't popular, it won't make money. But hopefully, the more people are on here, the more interesting content and niche tags emerge to really tell life's story in different ways.

card

Sort:  

Your example is bad (no it isn't) for the simple reason that I was downvoted by Dan for doing exactly what you mention above, using a good looking woman to advertise Steem. So either Dan is horrible at marketing (cough) or I am (I own an ad agency) for using a hot woman in a bikini jumping up and down to advertise Steem using a tried and true meme known around the internet that promotes 4chan.

It was getting popular then Dan took all of the earnings away, any potential for future earnings and stopped it in it's tracks so it could not get any more popular (or views) because the image was hidden from the front listing and the voting icons were removed. So if this is such a great way to advertise a product (it is) ... why was it downvoted?

I refer back to my question/statement above regarding marketing. I don't think marketing is a specialty for Dan or Ned judging by two (of the three) downvotes I've (the person who specializes in advertising) received for ... marketing Steem; which lost me several thousands dollars in earnings and SP for promoting their business to others and discourages me from doing it any longer.

So trying to "sell newspapers" will get you downvoted here on Steem, where everywhere else in the world it has the exact opposite effect and brings in new users. This is a problem (Founders downvoting marketing) that needs to be fixed when it comes to Steem and it's marketing. Let people market Steem and see what works. It's not Dan or Ned doing the work, it's other people, while Dan and Ned are hindering the work for who knows what reason.

Ned didn't like the fact that he left his video unhidden on Google (not my fault) and I beat him to marketing it (not my fault, it's what I do) so he further exacerbates the problem he created by having me remove the advertisement from every social media site it was uploaded to while it was gaining traction. I'm sorry but that's very odd behavior for someone that wants their business to succeed and it seemed to be born out of an urge for Ned to profit off of his video instead of the Steem community profiting off of it being spread far and wide in an organic manner as quickly as possible.

These types of actions by the Founders of Steem not only hinder organic marketing efforts by the Community, which are largely successful for other social media outlets, but they cost nothing in the way of money or time for the Founders or the Steem Community to implement. You have people marketing Steem because they love it and then you have the Founders shutting it down because of their ego's or misguided opinions on what sells on the internet in this day and age.

I'll leave it at that because I could spend another hour or two here going over the mistakes that are being made marketing wise with Steem and how it's holding back the exponential growth this Community could and should be experiencing in it's early days simply because the Founders are trying to do someone else's job that they are not qualified to perform.

Disclaimer : Sorry I don't have time to proofread this, there will be errors.

Mm, does seem shortsighted, I voted for your lovely jiggling meme.

I would love to hear your ideas on marketing a platform like this, maybe you should do a post about it?

Loading...

Steam measures popularity not by headcount, but by SP, and Dan, Ned, etc. have the most SP. They also have the most to lose should Steem not succeed. None of which means you shouldn't try to convince them you are right, but the way to convince them (if possible at all) is by some other vehicle, not expecting a voting system to ignore their preferences.

please give me tutorial post
I want my articles like you because i new here
tq u @smooth

Even if they are right, downvoting active community members is like shooting their own foot!

PS founders of steemit should not vote at all ! At least NOT DOWNVOTE at all (except of extreme ABUSE situations)

nice article...n keep wcthing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80