You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What To Do When You Are Stuck - 5 Great Ways To Get Ideas On What To Write On Steemit ...… Plus A Special Bonus For You

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

This is a GREAT article, very accurate and helpful. Since I started on Steemit, I've had a ton of ideas for articles every day. Most of them aren't very good, but if they have some promise, I write them down. Sometimes, this means opening my phone and sending myself an e-mail with the latest idea. A few key words will be enough for me to remember it, but if I do not write it down I will forget it.

I also read a lot, as @infovore suggests. Often, some news story or article will trigger a thought or a memory in my mind. Or I might spot a connection that I think others would find useful or interesting.

Then I start writing. Sometimes, the article goes in a very different direction from what I had planned, but that kind of transformation is good.

There are so many ideas in my head for Steemit posts that I do not get to all of them. I have given away some of my ideas to other writers or split articles with other writers-collaborators. If you are a writer and want to discuss collaborations, feel free to contact me directly on Slack.

When one idea isn't working, it's also important to drop it or delete it, and then move on. I have gotten so hung up on one concept before, trying without any luck to develop it, before I finally realize that it's been a block for everything else. If an idea doesn't fit, eliminate it or move it to another file that you save for another day. And then focus intently on developing the part that feels right.

Sort:  

I liked the part where you advised that one must kill the half work if it is not going great. People have a deep attachment to investment cost. What I mean to say that people try to create reasons in their mind as to how they have invested their time and why they should not leave it unfinished. Same behavior leads to so many losses in stock market.

People need to be educated about opportunity cost. By people I mean myself too. I belong to those awesome humans who are great at preaching but not practicing what they preach themselves.

Thanks for sharing your experience.

WOW. Thanks so much for taking the time to write this. Super insightful. I love the email trick. I usually just carry a notepad wherever I go.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60728.44
ETH 2653.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59