You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Justification for 104 week Power Down

in #steem8 years ago

Steemit is brilliant and I thank you for everything you have done to envision and create it. I happen to disagree with some of your recent suggested changes, which appear to be short-term attempts to control people and restrict the money flow in what should be a free economy. I would much rather the team focus on ways to improve demand, give people reasons to come and stay here, and make it a user-friendly experience.

The next part sounds like a broken record, because I kept saying this in BitShares. We need to stop the constant changes, give it some stability/predictability, and let this thing grow organically. Please don't tweak it to death again. It's time to think about building the other pillars of the Steem ecosystem.

That said, I cannot even believe that you would write this article, which I think is unnecessary. (Your view is correct, but the post was not needed.) You are addressing one of the dumbest ideas I have seen presented (the fast power down, which is basically the equivalent of eliminating Steem Power). That idea was justifiably being ignored and it could have died an easy death if you guys had not given it this kind of attention.

You are definitely right about one thing: we need long term thinking. I want people who understand this is a long, hard slog, and that steady growth will come if we keep building it. If you don't believe in it, sell, and I'm buying more Steem. I am spending most of my time mentoring authors and helping several whale accounts find worthy, deserving content creators who have not gotten the rewards they deserve. Others are doing far more than I am to make this a better place. Let's keep building.

Sort:  

That said, I cannot even believe that you would write this article, which I think is unnecessary. (Your view is correct, but the post was not needed.) You are addressing one of the dumbest ideas I have seen presented (the fast power down, which is basically the equivalent of eliminating Steem Power). That idea was justifiably being ignored and it could have died an easy death if you guys had not given it this kind of attention.

There are still lots of newbies who don't understand the logic behind this system, so I think it's great that @dan has time to explain basics to them.

Also doesn't hurt that the post made over $700.

I've been thinking this too. I don't mind my SP being locked away for 2 years under the current rules, but I have no idea what the rules will look like a month from now.
If making changes to the site took 104 weeks, we might find more people willing to buy SP.

Nobody forced you to power up. That was your choice.

I also chose to power up half the amount I originally considered, largely because I don't have any assurance the goalposts won't shift.
I understand steemit is in beta, so I'm not having a whine, just sharing my experience and reasoning.

Nail. Head. Thanks for that.

"Please don't tweak it to death again"
I share the same sentiments

Thank you for this btw! If more of the larger players had this attitude it would foster an environment where the site is a lot more likely to retain it's users instead of having them sign up and leave after several weeks of posts that don't earn a thing as they are ignored by the big players always voting for the same authors...

I like this guy!

I'm curious in what way you mentor authors @donkeypong?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64097.37
ETH 3476.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53