The pain of being a bagholder - My true story - Episode #1

in #steem8 years ago

Yeh not every one wants to admit it, but it happens. It happened to me and more then once.

I am to much of a techie and dreamer to be good in trading. That much is clear. I had more fun mining and exchanging ideas on bitcointalk than i earned money. Now i think about it, did i earn money?

But i thought it was something from the past. But i recently noticed it is not the case. Or at least the coin is from the past but i did not realize i was a bag holder. That is even worse.

I am just back to crypto by joining you all at steemit. So that is why i booted up my good old VM that contains my wallets. The reason is to buy some steem from all the riches lying in all those wallets. That was the idea at least. But besides my peercoins it is a waste land when i start my other wallets and try to find exchanges or even wallet connections. It gave me a deja vu.

So i start with the past, to understand what is happening now. At least if i had learned from it.

I had famous coins that for sure would make me rich. I will just name a few for your entertainment. Today i write about Mazacoin, QQcoin and Auroracoin.

    MazaCoin This would be it. A coin that would help native americans who are living in the Indian reservations out of poverty. The first place where you could actual pay with cryptocoins. Yeh, really ;-).

    I was convinced (well gold fever) and bought some with fiat (trough bitcoins ofcourse)
    And i went on selling it with 50% loss after watching it for 5 days when everything felt apart. Shortest ride ever.

    QQcoin This is going tot be so big. Everything in china has QQ in the name. Or something like that. Ofcourse we had almost no Chinese people active in the community.

    I bought some by selling anon cons (yeh i come to that one a other day). And well my focus shifted to other coins and after a rise and some short falls i forgot about it. One day i needed bitcoins to buy some Mint and tried to get my QQcoins to a exchange. But there where no exchanges and no connection to my wallet.
    So yeh that is kinda QQcoin. I still have them i you would like :)

    Auroracoin The first time i ever heard of a airdrop. It even made the headlines in iceland. Where the airdrop was going to take place. The price was arround 40$ a coin. Even offline news papers where writing about it. I realized again that i was way to late buying. But i did it anyway. And well everything will be alright. The airdrop will start and whole iceland will use crypto. My dream of a currency without the banks would start in iceland. It seemed to be the right place to start the crypto revolution after they already put bankers in jail

    Sortly after the first airdrops nothing seems to happen. No real world application and the price went in decline. I went out but ofcourse 2 late. Way to late.

      But it could have been worse but the price never went up even after that the unused premined coins where 'burned' by being sent to the address AURburnAURburnAURburnAURburn7eS4Rf. The price is 0,11 cents these days.

    Well next time i will shine a light on a other coin i owned. Just guess by this logo :-)
Sort:  

Amazing post!
https://steemit.com/steemit/@razvanelulmarin/help-me-upvote-you try putting a biiiiiiiit of work in this post and it could go from amazing to awesomeballs!

Thank you for your kind words. I try to improve every post.

This very nice. I do remember the times. Hope some wales will help you forget your losses a little.

Thank you. Wont be easy ;-)

I think many of us have been there.

I am sure of that :-) There was way to many choice and so many beautiful stories what it would become hehe.

How about a new "Lulzcoin" ;-)

Hehe i think this time i would not mine something what that name....but i used to :O

One of the reasons why I skiped crypto was that it was way to complicated for me at that time. I was busy doing other stuff, otherwise I could probably make our xenon based server mine some on a cron job, so it would do so during the nights, and work its regular job during the day. :-)

I mined everything...i even had my game pc running with my older and new gpu. For every extra cycle i could get. I even got robbed on mining pools sometimes haha. Those were the times :D

Sounds like internet is the new frontier (I new it for ages, but haven't thought about it that way much), and it has its own Gold Rush. Now the analogy is complete! I hope you can turn your experience into something like stories of cyber-Jack London, or someone like that. Cyber western (based on the real events of course) is now tottaly a thing. :-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61297.02
ETH 2687.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59