I'm not voting for any witnesses and you probably shouldn't either!

in #steem4 years ago

I probably don't have any right to have an opinion on the shenanigans that are currently going on with Steem (Steemit) given I stopped posting last year? I'm not voting for any witnesses because:

      A. I don't know any of them.
      B. As far as I know, no witness has done anything for me?
      C. I can't entirely agree with the attempted coup that is going on.

If the current actions are genuinely about "Doing the right thing." and upholding some perceived view of what the community should be then taking what is in effect a militant stance is not the way to go about it. I also find it hysterical that witnesses and users are happy to let people join and stay on Steem who are already big hitters on Youtube, Instagram etc. who have only joined the platform to bleed it and their followers dry (I have one or two specific users in mind) and yet Justin, who is accused of supposedly attempting to do the same thing with sock puppet accounts is not only vilified but the community is trying to overthrow significant shareholders. As always with this type of thing, there are probably a lot of users who are too scared to say what they truly feel and even more who are possibly sheep and just following the crowd.

Having said all that, if @steevc put himself up for withness I'd vote for him because he has always been a robust, consistent and loyal supporter of my account. We may well disagree on one or two things, but friendships transcend all the stuff.

"If you don't have enough steem power or dollars to upvote me; resteem me instead. Resteems are worth their weight in gold!"

My actual name is Pete

Find out Here why I have the username dick_turpin.


Find me on Social Media

https://mastodon.org.uk/@dick_turpin
https://twitter.com/dick_turpin
https://www.facebook.com/peter.cannon3

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
License explained: Examples
Create your license: Choose

Creative Commons Licence


Podcaster. FOSS, Linux & Creative Commons Advocate.
"Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."
Sort:  

Since you trust @steevc, you should set him as your witness voting proxy.

But how do I know the people @steevc trusts are my kind of people? Clearly Steve's friendship choices are pretty suspect, after all, he's friends with me for pity's sake!


"If you don't have enough steem power or dollars to upvote me; resteem me instead. Resteems are worth their weight in gold!"

Don't forget, you can upvote peoples comments too!

You prefer centralization instead of voting?

Centralized or Decentralized has nothing to do with it. What is going on at the moment is about Control it is about who controls the blockchain. It makes no difference if one individual owns it or a bunch of people. I don't like coups because history teaches us that in most takeovers the wrong people gain control.


"If you don't have enough steem power or dollars to upvote me; resteem me instead. Resteems are worth their weight in gold!"

Don't forget, you can upvote peoples comments too!

Do you prefer republics or democracies?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64192.94
ETH 2764.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65