Work to live? Or live to work

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

So these are two common mindsets people have when approaching their careers, their jobs, their work. I am never going to condemn somebody else's choice for how they choose to live their life, just simply inform on a discovery I recently stumbled upon.

I'm the type that is minimal and likes experiences wayyyyyy more than buying things. I also LOVE investing and saving money. So much so that it can actually get me in trouble. You see, people that love material things tend to think about money a lot to support the wheel of buying nicer things.

image

The point of being minimal is that you don't have to devote the same time to worrying about making money, and actually working for money as well. However, I have become so obsessed with investing and saving as much as possible that I was thinking about money as much or even MORE than the very lifestyle I try to avoid.

Then I remembered something...

The old saying, " Are you living to work, or working to live". I had started living to work, so that I could reinvest. I guess this isn't the worst thing in the world since you're technically not spending your money (unless your investments go bad ;) , but still I was thinking about money way more than I should have been...
image

Now I'm not ever going to come out and say one is better than the other. Some people absolutely love working.

But for my happiness I remembered this, and it brought me back down to earth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64202.90
ETH 3439.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59