You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are Blockchain platforms like Steemit truly Decentralised?

in #steem6 years ago

This is an excellent, well-crafted argument, and I agree with you. I used to be a worker-owner at a collectively run restaurant. There, each member was a stakeholder with an equal say in how the business was run. Certain decisions were made on committees, but all major decisions had to be consensus. It had its weak points too, but I am just bringing it up to share it as an example of decentralization within a system. I agree that Steemit does not give that kind of power to all its members, and your point about term limits is very interesting too. I am starting to secretly hope that all this thought you are putting into these comparisons will lead to some kind of amazing solution in the future . I really appreciate the work you put into your posts. Thanks for sharing.

Sort:  

hey @dflo,
Thank you for reading the post and commenting.
I am trying to understand how will decentralised system work in future and my post are the by-products of the thoughts I have.
I should have had written about the flip side of the coin as well- the power of taking initiatives and volunteerism on the decentralised platforms. On a decentralised platform, if every content creator content starts taking himself as an investor too, they could start working and volunteering for the growth of this platform. But the thing is most of the people don't care about the platform, they produce content and do the minimal required to become successful steemian... and there are very few trying and working hard for making steem successful leading to centralisation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39