You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Grey Areas of STEEM : #1 Legitimate Self-Voting vs Abusive Self-Voting

in #steem6 years ago

I saw your link to this post on SSG. Thank you for writing this and apologies for not seeing it when it was earning $ for you.

Self voting on comments shits me to tears. I posted something a few days back that has gotten a large amount of notice. This women posts some crap comment, upvotes herself to the top of my comments (I think with a bigger vote than she gave me.) And then upvoted a second comment of her own on the same post that she made in reply to someone else’s comment on my post. It just seemed like she is trying to ride my trail on that post to her own reward. I have no SP otherwise I would have down voted her into negative $. I also tried to upvote more thoughtful comments above her but again I have no SP so my $0.00 vote didn’t compete with the $0.11 and $0.10 she dropped on herself.

I also saw a post by another steemian. Some guy came by, commented, upvoted himself but not the post. His comment was dumb and short. Then two of his cronies followed in upvoting his comment, but again not the original post.

It is so rude.

Sort:  

Thanks. I had a look at your post and I agree it is rude. To self vote such a relatively large amount and not even upvote the post is just really poor form in book. It happens to us all.

There is starting to be some co-ordinated response to this sort of bad self-voting behaviour. Have a look at @sadkitten it is one I am supporting and it is an approach which is hopefully going to start chipping away at the problem.

Thank you for sharing the info re @sadkitten. This seems like a very logical way to counter excessive self voting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60364.09
ETH 2378.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57