You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should You Convert, Power Up, Sell, or Hold?

in #steem8 years ago

Personally, I try to sell SBD at ~$1 or above at Bittrex. I've been doing this since I started. I held it in bitcoin and waited until $1 Steem. I've since reinvested everything Jess and I made into Vests and I am even contemplating breaking out some dusty bitcoin to take it up another notch, if we go below $.70 again.

I'm not wealthy by any stretch, so it would be a bit risky for me to put a handful more of bitcoin into this, but I think I will. I really am confident in what I see happening and I constantly think about how much bigger this can be. Granted, there are things that can be improved, but like Bitcoin, none of these things are impossible. Really, they're not even that hard. We just need the community to realize there's much bigger potential behind Steem than they think.

It's why I'm happy to be talking with Blake, Kieran, and anyone else about all of this in the future. I think that we need hype, we need hope, we need to realize the details are getting in the way of what really matters.

If we work together, and do this right, Steem will be the future for the Internet, there's no doubt in my mind.

Sort:  

I hope you're right. I'm a bit discouraged by the lack of adoption from my friends though. Granted, way more jumped onboard Steemit than got into bitcoin, but still, I'm surprised more people don't see the obviousness of it. Why post on Facebook if you can post somewhere else and get paid? Confuses me why so many stay on Facebook.

I've had similar results with some of my friends. I still have about 6 or 7 really active RL friends on here, who were never into crypto at all before, which I feel real good about.

The way I look at it, Bitcoin wasn't "sticky" early on, and still really isn't for a lot of people. You can hand out a good chunk of bits to people, but they'll do nothing and move on with their lives. That's totally fine. It just means we have to make it better.

We need to build this out from Steemit and take Steem to them. I want to see comment sections in news articles that run on Steem. I want to see the articles themselves have Steem's voting mechanics built in. I want to see it built out everywhere.

Let's take BarStoolSports for example. They may someday join Steemit, say hey, but there is no way they would post content here and stop posting on their platform that they've spent years building up. That's not what we want. If they won't come to us, we need to get Steem on BarStoolSports. We want to be able to upvote their articles, right there, and comment, right there as well. All of that gets pushed back to the Steem blockchain, while looking "normal" on their end. While also showing other, bigger websites a much better solution for their platform.

Steemit would become the signup/login portal for when people want to vote/comment here and elsewhere on the Internet. This is already necessary with Facebook plug-in comments sections. So, let's build Steem plug-in comments sections. It's possible to do. Just takes time, money, talent, etc., but far from impossible.

Steemit is great, don't get me wrong. It can certainly grow and cater to a specific niche of content creators who haven't established their brand elsewhere. Everyone else needs Steem to come to them. If we do that, it's game over.

So, let's build Steem plug-in comments sections

That's a really great idea. I like it.


(pic from a post I made a while ago)

It'd likely need an additional moderation layer for various reasons that we all may not like, so I'm not 100% sure how that would work. However, I know a lot of other smart people on here that can probably figure it out. :)

On the other hand, their moderators would need enough Steem Power to effectively curate. It may seem like a costly upfront investment, however their costs could be recouped if they opened up their articles to be upvoted as well, drastically marginalizing their risk, while potentially earning them much more money for their content than how they were earning before, simultaneously adding value to the Steem they have vested.

Perhaps it eliminates the viability of ad-based models. Perhaps our reputations go with us to every site we go to. Steem has potential massive implications for both our Internet lives and our real lives unlike any other project I've seen before.

@picokernel showed us how there can be other apps for Steem with Squeek. It's not hard to imagine the bigger picture of what Steem can be after actually seeing another app work in tandem with Steemit.

Might be because all their friends are there, while Steemit is full of "anarchist loonies". :)

Maybe that's why I like it so much. The people I enjoy talking with the most are anarchist loonies. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15