Witness Node Upgraded to 96GB

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Quick Witness Update.

Earlier this month I rented a new server to host my witness node. My plan was to have continuity for when my 32GB node was no longer sufficient to keep up with the growing activity on the Steem blockchain and stopped producing blocks. Unfortunately that's not how it worked out, my witness started to fail while I was away in Isle of Man, and I wasn't able to deal with it immediately. I missed a few blocks and my witness was down for a few days. Anyway, the new server which is based in a datacentre in France is producing blocks now. Here are some vital stats:

CPU
1x Intel® Xeon® E5 1650 v3

RAM
96 GB DDR4 ECC

Storage
3x 500 GB SSD

Bandwidth
500 Mbit/s

Voting for Increasing Bandwidth Limits

I've also doubled the bandwidth limit I am voting for. I see merit on both sides of the argument, keeping the bandwidth limit as they are forces users to distribute stake according to legitimate users who need it, without perpetually increasing the burden on witnesses. That has to be weighed against the diminished user experience for new members who often don't yet have enough stake to comment as much as they would like, and I mean users who are not spamming the network. We have gone long enough with the current limits and should be ready for a new wave of users, hence I am voting for an increased limit so that we are prepared for whenever that happens.


Please consider voting for me as witness!

Sort:  

You've always been top of my witness list. No one cares about the platform like you do!

I have chosen you as a witness.
master I want to ask for what use maf if I am sassy I have not understood. I am happy to work with you. thank you

Screenshot_2018-03-24-08-29-53.png

I tried to vote for you, but when I press f5 it's gone. Am I doing something wrong?
.dee.png

I think I've seen something like this before but I can't remember the details. What happens after you press vote? Does it ask you to sign the transaction with your active key or master password?

yes, then you appear on this list, but after I reload the page you're not on my list anymore

Hi Alexandra, I think you must be trying to vote with your posting key instead of your active key. I just tried voting for myself with another account using my active key and it worked fine. Then when I did the same with the posting key, it gave the same behaviour that you described.

You can find your active key on this page. You may need to press "Login to Show" to get the actual private active key, you log in with your master password for this.

It's okay, that was the mistake. thanks @demotruk! have an amazing day!

Thanks for clearing out this one! I will try right now!

the server was very good, I just saw it at the factory, but you can afford the rent, it's excellent.

This is cool. Really cool!

But, how is this possible?
I would really like to know how the server makes your bandwith increases?

Does it mean I can also increase mine by building/getting a server?

Anyway, it's a great server. The stats are very okay.

I would really like to know how the server makes your bandwith increases?

As a witness, it's my job to participate in the decision making process for network governance. One decision we make is how much bandwidth should be available in each block. By increasing this we increase the bandwidth available to everyone, but it potentially makes the cost of running a full node higher.

Does it mean I can also increase mine by building/getting a server?

No. You can only increase your own bandwidth by getting more Steem Power.

Oh! Now I understand.

Thanks for this.

If i was a witness, I'd vote for an increase in BW too. I've seen/had multiple account talk about needing to wait until they could submit their next post, and having checked their blogs, there's no good reason why they shouldn't be allowed to add content - very off putting that, and there are many of us delegating out just to solve this issue.

Would you suggest 96GB Memory is the going rate for a new build these days?

Cheers!

upvoted for visibility as I have the same question about the memory being the suggested rate

64GB is all that is needed right now, @Demotruk's decision to go to 96 is solid future-proofing because our last two mem upgrade walls we hit were 32 and 64, about eight weeks apart. If the code isn't changed to be more efficient, we will need at least 96 and probably 128 by May or so.

As for the bandwidth thing, I'm not taking a side here, but to clarify, it IS a delegated proof of stake system, so using SP to determine how much bandwidth is allotted is for a reason. New users are limited to deter instant account spam. And it works. There are reasons, convenient or not, for many of the things that seem spurious to newer users or users not familiar with the woes of an unchecked community system of any kind. This "check" does mitigate new accounts from being able to spam, unless they invest, and investing is good, even WITH the spam, for all of us... its a complicated problem to solve.

@SirCork
Witness #68
Founder @YouAreHOPE Foundation
Founder @SteemstarNetwork

You went to the extent of renting a whole new server? Blessed is a man dilligent in his work for he shall dwell before kings and not before mean men. Blessings to you @demotruk

hello @demotruk, I am very supportive of this, and I salute you, you are one who will pay attention to many new users here, and many still need that voice, I strongly agree that your vote is distributed to those who must accept it. This is also a good idea, and it is better that the voice you give to a person should be limited to how many votes for a single user in a day, I complain bitterly and concerned those who cast their vote to someone and others using their votes as he / she wants, even in one day could be 5 posts for one person, I am very concerned for that.

Friend, your server is really very cool. Thank you for the work you are doing.

Lucky you know how to work on it.
I need to learn from that.
Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99