You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Two Things Which Need to Remain True for Steem to Succeed

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

That said, the long term success of Steemit does involve more and more people building their own following. If that barrier of entry gets too high, we won't see the success we want.

The follower model is inherently pyramid-like. It's not sustainable, and why Twitter hit a plateau so much earlier than its competitors. For the same reason, Twitter is trying to de-emphasize it, by throwing in other stuff into people's feeds (but users don't like it because it's obviously not why they joined Twitter).

I think we will end up more like Youtube, where following (subscribers) and subject, trending video feeds etc. are blended fairly well.

Sort:  

I agree, a blend seems to make the most sense. I wonder also how much it comes down to personal preference. I pretty much only watch videos from channels I've subscribed to because of limited time. I don't want to wade through all the other stuff when I know the people I follow on YouTube consistently put out great content.

Good discussion, thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60935.93
ETH 2645.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56