My Foresight Must Be Broken. I'm Still Somehow Optimistic About SteemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem8 years ago

Sort:  

Recent events have really brought some realities into focus.
My view of the platform has changed from it being a decentralised group of people working together for a common good to a platform that is owned by an organisation that controls it and me effectively being a shareholder (because i own STEEM) This is not necessarily a bad thing as long as management step up to the plate and provide some leadership and a vision for the future that reflects in the share price (STEEM)

I still think the platform is great and it gives us a great opportunity to earn but it has lost some of its lustre for me.

Let's wait and see what big changes @ned had up his sleeve...

I do see it as a bad thing. I don't have much interest in being a pseudo-shareholder for a non-DAO corporation. Obviously Steemit Inc don't see it the same way I do, and I find it frustrating that they don't recognize it as a problem worth addressing in the short term (which basically means it will never be addressed).

But even with diminished ambitions with Dan going, and diminished expectations, I'm still optimistic. The perfect is the enemy of the good, and what we have here is still great, and there's some potential to still move in a fully open direction.

I am still inclined to power down if there is no change in the licence by May though.

Same here! I'm not sure if I'm just in denial about all of it.

As @stellabelle says:
I'm still sipping the Steemit Kool-Aid!

Hey Demotruk,

Do you have any reasons? I would like to hear them. I have paid some attention to what you say, and I respect most of it.

Despite all that's happened, we still have a censorship resistant social media platform. I see people literally crying out for forums without censorship every day. That's enormously valuable on its lonesome. The current market cap seems to massively undervalue that. And after basically worst news possible, we're still here, the price didn't hit a new low.

My main reason though is probably just that I'm a contrarian when it comes to investing.

Thank you for the kind words!

The fabric is coming...

LOL, not what I expected.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77