The Haunted Parallel Forest

in #steem7 years ago

ok68-5-700x700.jpg

Hidden deep in the mountains of southern Oklahoma, is an eerie forest rumored to be haunted.
IMG_20180115_152143_9931.jpg
The Witchita Mountains Wildlife Refuge is a popular destination for visitors to Oklahoma. It features a variety of wildlife such as gangs of buffalo, herds of deer, and wild turkeys to name a few.
526805_S.jpg
1436170_S.jpg
However, just off the beaten path sits a creepy forest made up of about 20,000 trees. Here, the canopy is so thick that it almost completely blocks out all of the sunlight which contributes to its sinister environment.
IMG_20180115_152946_8954.jpg
Once inside, there is a myriad of trails throughout, leading to nowhere in particular. Everywhere you look, there is a tree exactly six feet from the next. This is the reason it is so easy to get lost inside these shadowy woods.
Visitors to the Parallel Forest have reported seeing ghosts with no heads, weird noises, orbs in pictures, feelings of being touched and many more paranormal experiences.
ok68-3-700x525.jpg
I myself, have spent a little time exploring those endless trails. Something caught my eye along the stream, just off the path. I discovered a huge, round flat stone table, resembling an alter. Arranged around the stone platform are smaller round and flat stones suitable for seating. Interesting as it was during the daytime, once the darkness settled around me, I was eager to leave.
I felt the fear clawing its way up my throat as I searched for the trail that would lead me out of the dark forest. I heard whisperings among the trees and the rustling of branches as I tried to find my way. I heard a rush and the trampling of the ground behind me. I broke into a run, through the edge of treeline to get to my car. Only then, I glanced behind me. It wasn't a ghost chasing me, but a longhorn bull. Terrifying nonetheless.
Whether or not you believe the Parallel Forest is haunted, it makes an interesting place to visit.

Sort:  

It sounds like a creepy cool place, and looks like someone attempted to replant a clear cut with the grid thing going on.

From what I understand, government planted the trees to fight erosion about a century ago. I think it's red pine. So actually yes you are correct.

Leave it to the gov to plant a creepy grid forest, ;) but it was good of them to try.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57198.53
ETH 2362.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40