Starting a New business, You NEED Consistency

in #steem6 years ago

Hello Steemit family!
Many years I have tried, started, attempted and failed at business ideas crashing and burning on

99% of them. Online business ideas, offline business ideas, it didn't matter. I always would

start a new venture in total optimism only to hit a slight snag of doubt and just like that, on

to the next one idea.

Desperation for quick cash

enter image description here

After losing my business of 10 years with real estate acquisitions, I had to join the rat race

again. I have nothing against people working hard but this was my worst nightmare as an

entrepreneur. I had the ultimate freedom to do what I love such as traveling.

I noticed that there was an abundance of low wage jobs out there in the market and my first job

after losing my business was a call center. Let's just say call center work took a toll on my

mental health. I hated being in a cubicle all day and I frantically searched for any business

opportunity that would get me out of that box with a phone. Boy was I nieve and I was the perfect

sap to pitch a MLM or opportunity to.

Consistently buying new opportunities lol

enter image description here

I will be the first to say that I had tried affiliate marketing, MLM , blogging, Forex and

nothing seemed to work for me. Some programs were lackluster and I think some were really good. I

knew for sure that I wanted something on the internet because this would allow me to make money

from home or anywhere for that matter. My hardrive had hundreds of videos from youtube on making

money online including numerous courses that I bought with the little money I had earned. I

realized was getting nowhere by buying course after course. I begin to make excuses like " They

didn't give me all info I need" or " I can't afford to market this after a month". I would buy a

course excited as hell and then if I didn't make money after the 1st try I would push it to the

side or cancel my 30 day free trial if it had one. All I knew is that if I continue with this

cycle I will just waste away more years never getting to my goal of being financial free.

Mindset Shift

Personal Development was a gamechanger for me. I paused the business search and started reading

books like "The Power of Consistency by Weldon Long" and it totally changed my mindset. Instead

of buying the next best idea, I stopped watching Youtube videos all day after work on how to make

money in which would link me to a sales video. I begin to focus on one idea and perform

consistent actions everyday on the idea, hell or hot water. I made myself a master plan to follow

everday after work. Results are not important to me right now. Instead I just focused on doing

consistent actions everyday and not expecting a dime at first. Mastery was now my new focus and

honestly, what was I thinking about expecting immediate results anyway! This definitely wasn't

the case in my last business so why would it be different with any other venture.

So in Essence I want to leave you with what I learned after many years of wasting money on the

next best thing.

  1. Get one idea, create an action plan and be consistent with it.
  2. Don't succumb to the "Shiny Object Syndrome"
  3. Read books on Personal development and adopt a business mindset
  4. Do not expect immediate money. Matter of fact, just focus on the act of consistency.
  5. Spend 80% of your time doing money producing activities and 20% learning and researching.

I hope this will help out some in the Steemit family and feel free to drop a comment if you can

relate!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59511.68
ETH 2613.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39