You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Journey - Should the number of views be factored into reward calculation?

in #steem7 years ago

I agree.

I even created a calculation to fix the Trending / Hot pages that included views, because that affects the true popularity of the article as oppose to people voting without reading or using bots.

Idea on Improving the Trending Feed

Sort:  

Great idea! I should really be digging through your older posts to get more inspirations :p

I think at the very least, there should be another list/feed to show the most viewed articles based on different intervals. Perhaps top views in past 7 days, 30 days, 1 year and all time can be featured in the list.

Number of views are platform dependent. On Steemit, only those views will be counted that accessed the Steem blockchain using steemit as front-end. But if that post was visited with some other front-ends like Busy or Chainbb, it won't count.

Secondly, all those views are not from Steem users. When a non-Steem users visit that post, say from Google or elsewhere, that too will be counted as a view.

Thirdly, if you yourself keep visiting your post, it will be counted as an additional view each time you refresh your page. Thus, it's not taking unique views into account.

Finally, the views you quoted here are of a post which is several months old while the reward is decided for the first seven days only. Views will get counted even for the visits post-7-day period.

And by the way, where do you get to see those views? I ain't seeing any view-counts for some days on Steemit 😉.

Yea, I have also noticed that the view count feature is removed from Steemit. I am not sure why.

And you are right, the view count feature can be easily abused. What I hope for is a reward algorithm that really reward valuable content. And by valuable, I mean valuable to the general public and not to Steem users only. So the idea is to continue giving out rewards (can be of very small amount) if the post remains useful and viewed for as long as there are views.

As a programmer myself, I understand it is not easy to be able to track the actual unique views. But the point I am driving towards is that the incentives drive behaviors. If the system rewards are only based on post performance for past 7 days and participation of Steem users, then this platform will only see more of short-term posts that try to draw attention of Steem users. To me, those posts are generally low quality and unlikely to show up on Google searches. We will see less quality posts like, https://steemit.com/qtum/@cryptominder/qtum-staking-tutorial-using-qtumd-on-a-raspberry-pi-3

Which in my opinion is going to hinder the progress of the platform in the long run.

Maybe when they finally roll out SMT's, they can do a bonus token based on the view/upvote ratio.

I do hope so. But from the whitepaper, it seems that there won't be much customization allowed on the reward algorithm. In addition, I went to check the APIs and I cannot find a way to get content views through API.

If it is shown on Steemit, it has to be in the API somewhere.

Hmm.. Let me dig a little deeper.

I should really be digging through your older posts to get more inspirations

So say we all!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65364.69
ETH 2650.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86