The Strange History of the Cryptocurrency Wiki Page

in #steem8 years ago
 Late night wikipedia-ing unfurls a crypto conspiracy... 

 I was trying to read a bit more on IOU tokens and the wiki for "crypto asset" that included IOU in the description in SERP redirected me to the cryptocurrency page I've been to a dozen times before. After cmd+f failed to surface "IOU" I was about to start to dig through the history and then noticed something that bugged me about the page.Look at the list... why is Legality seemingly more important than Timestamping orEconomics... you know, the description of what cryptocurrencies are and how they work? Surely this wiki page doesn't help change the general public's opinion of cryptocurrency. 

 So I decided I needed to know when exactly Legality made the leap to number 3 on that list and started to dig back through the history for that instead of my original IOU quest.

This edit is the last edit before the Legality section was added to the list. Its from April 28th 2014.

 So then I thought, who would do such a thing and for what purpose? Was it just a thoughtless "me first" ordering that's never been corrected? Or was it intentionally planted in an order that would steer the conversation toward the scary stuff? 

 After Googling for Everettjustin, the author of the first Legality containing edit (who's also since dropped off the map on wiki apparently), the very first result was none other than politician and Republican member of the Colorado House of Representatives, Justin Everett

 Are these two people one and the same? Did Justin know what he was doing when he ordered that list? Is this all part of some elaborate psy-ops to slow the impending rise of cryptocurrencies by controlling the dialog?

.....

 I have no idea lol. Trail runs cold from there. Nothing comes up searching his name along crypto so I'm not sure his stance on it. His wiki seems to be pro freedom/liberty so I'd like to think if that's the case, and he was the author, that maybe the ordering was just a flub rather than some intentionally malicious thing :P 

 What do you think? Malicious or thoughtless? Was Justin the author, or are the names coincidentally the same? Does the order matter, or am I just reading too much into things because its late? 

 
 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59385.33
ETH 2590.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48