HF19 - My 2¢ (Now More Like 18¢) & Riding a Bike

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20170603_182357.jpg

Learning to Ride A Bike

Our youngest just started riding his bike without the training wheels. (He was taking off in that picture!) It took a while but he got it.
It was great to see!

Well when I say he got it, I mean that he was able to stumble through a few laps around the yard. He has gone back to using the training wheels lately. He can still do it without, but I don't think it has been exactly like he expected.

He can ride farther without them.
He can go in the grass and not get stuck.
He can ride faster.

But it takes more energy, thinking and coordination to ride without them. At least in these easily stages.

He sees his brothers and sister riding and he just can't wait and wants them back on. It is too much to learn the other way. So we put them back on and off he goes.

Hard Fork 19

Now this isn't going to be a technical discussion because we have lots of those now. This is just a quick post on the emotional side of this change.

You see, I think the experience we are seeing with this change is like learning to ride a bike. We just got our training wheels off and it is awesome. It is scary. But we are doing it! We are riding the bike! It is exciting but at the same time we have to think more. We have to plan.

"Do I up vote this post?"

"Can I let my voting power drop that far?"

"Do I vote a smaller percentage? But this post is good!"

"Is this dollar amount on my post real or is it going to adjust as things balance out?"

"Ok...do I post more? I mean, what if this ends?"

How do you ride this bike without the training wheels that you have come to expect? Even if the change is good it can still take time.

A New Standard

Another thing is once you see your post hit a new record high are you now entitled to that amount? It becomes a new standard, right? My first few weeks I just wanted a post over a dollar. That was my "goal" (Which is funny because I can't really do much once it is out. That is all you guys.)

Once I hit a dollar on a post I felt good about. Now I want it to hit $20 before I feel like it has provided value. Some of you probably feel like your posts are due at least $100 or more.
(Watch this post just make .18¢ 😁)

It is interesting how we can become entitled to that number. I wonder if the change that HF19 brought will collectively raise that entitlement number for all of us. I feel that it will (or has).

Also, when does the value of having a voice and providing knowledge and engagement become priceless? Does there come a point where the changes don't impact you at all because you are just thankful to speak you mind?

It will be interesting to see how it adjusts over the next few weeks and how we feel collectively if the training wheels get put back on. 🚲


Just some quick scattered thoughts before bed. So far I am definitely enjoying the ride and hope you are too!

Sort:  

Way to break hardfork 19 down, time will tell.. i been testing hard the past 24 hours :) great post!

Thanks! Yeah, time will tell. I am beginning to think that it is going to level out quite a bit by people adjusting to the new voting power and therefore posts will be affected.

I feel like a lot of people might get discouraged in a week or so when they had a taste of getting a solid amount of value from a post and it slowly goes back to normal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49