You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should You Convert, Power Up, Sell, or Hold?

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

FYI you can sell your SBD on the open market instead of waiting a week to convert it to Steem (use the buy/sell option and you can either accept someone's bid or make your own and hope someone takes it for a slightly better price than is available). I personally chose to power up all the SBD I earned immediately because I wanted to reap the benefits of higher reputation score, more curation power, more money given to people for votes, and as you said you get a better bang for your buck on vests by buying them earlier.

If you are worried about steem price fluctuations you could always spread out how much SBD you spend on steem per day. For instance, say you had 210 SBD in your account and wanted to convert it to steem to then power up.
If you sell 30 SBD per day, you end up buying more steem when it's cheap and less steem when it's expensive (because you trade in a fixed amount of SBD but when steem is cheap that buys you more and when it's expensive that buys you less). this averages out the swings and keeps you powering up steadily.

But now there is an added wrinkle: post promotion. I want to allocate some of my SBD towards promoting my posts and some towards powering up to invest in more followers which pay dividends over my future on the site.

It's an interesting question and the answer varies person to person depending on their financial safety net, their belief in the site long term, and how much time they want to commit to steemit in the future.

Sort:  

Thanks for your reply, @daut44. Yes, I was using the internal market almost exclusively when buying STEEM initially. As for spreading out your buys, I wonder how significant would the difference be because, in a sense, you're kind of already doing what the 7 day conversion does for you automatically... but I guess you get the added benefit of holding a bit of SBD over that time period which means you get some of that 10% return on SBD along with powering up smaller amounts earlier which gives you the added benefit of lower Steem Power to VEST conversion and the increasing Steem Power as a VEST holder.

Oh, also, another benefit of the convert function which I failed to mention in my post is it actually destroys the SBD (as far as I understand). If it's sold on the market, that debt still exists on the whole system. Also, don't forget, converting gives you that $1 price of SBD which you don't get on the internal market. As my example here showed, I got an extra 62.57 STEEM worth of VESTs by using convert. That's quite a difference over using the internal market.

First, Luke a another great post, but as I was reading the post and comments, I was still planning to do as I used to do before, hold SBD and by Steem on the internal market when the price is around 1.0 and I was planning to continue to do that way, but I completely forgot about destroys the SBD, now I'm changing the "game" and will use the conversion(if I predict it will be beneficial) to convert my SBD to steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57451.97
ETH 3105.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32