To study or not to study 📖

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

The ideal students life is a puzzling one to fathom. There's a constant Cold War of procrastination versus discipline raging in the minds of our future leaders as they try to juggle their responsibilities for keeping their grades up, staying in the buzz of social happenings and keeping fit or just having some time to wind down and relax. It is a battle between studies and the pursuit of happiness, however I feel that it is easily possible for all of us to attain equilibrium in our lives where we can do well in our studies while still having time for whatever activities we want to do.

IMG_7234.JPG

As a student myself, the tedious, tiring tradition of studying for hours and the process of obligingly bidding farewell to my childhood for a list of letters on a piece of paper was preposterous. I personally feel that the one key elements which education fails to incorporate into its system is the emphasis on developing humanitarian values in students. Tell me, what good would it bring mankind, churning out doctors and scientists which could find a way to colonise mars and find cures for fatal diseases such as cancer if it was for the purpose of self benefit and wealth other than for the better good and growth of the human race?

I spent my last two weeks primarily sitting for my trial exams for my upcoming O levels this May. It's been an interesting two weeks, that in which I managed to prepare myself for all my papers while still being able to cycle for an hour daily and have left over time for family, friends and playing the guitar and even upload a cover with @edward-ong for the steem.it open mic competition. To most people, it's a fallacy for one to enjoy themselves during their exam seasons however for me I felt like the most crucial lesson I learnt in these two weeks were the importance of balance. To have an equilibrium is to be in control of your life. As important as studies and paper qualifications are, we must not forget the main purpose of education being to shape us into global citizens that will work together to move the world forward. The difference between a pupil and a students is that a student is a life long learner while a pupil is just open to learning in a small time frame.

The one thing every human being and living creature undergoes collectively is that we all age together. Time waits for nobody, the start to a more stress free, successful and productive life is time management.

"The end of education is a good character" - V. Naidu

Sort:  

I think your Post is for a big group of people very helpful!
Thx for making this Website for us!
Upvote when your in my opinion @alokkamboj

Thank you hahaha but you posted your comment only 15 seconds after my post. Are you sure you've read and evaluated it that quickly? :/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54370.47
ETH 2283.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33