Why I just bought STEEM Jan3/17

in #steem8 years ago

The value of Steem for today is ฿0.00015348.

It has a current circulating supply of 230 Million coins and a total volume exchanged of ฿86.9

I want to hold STEEM POWER more than STEEM. When I first bought STEEM it was around $1. I joined Steemit and had no idea what it was or how it worked. I learned how to Power Up!

The price of Bitcoin has been rising lately and Steem is connected to Bitcoin. If STEEM should rise in price in the future I do want to hold some. On many of my posts I am choosing to earn 100% Steem Power but on others I am opting for 50/50 STEEM/SP.

When I first bought Steem on Aug 16, 2016 Bitcoin was $577.18 and Steem was 0.002673BTC. Since STEEM has Declined to 0.0001534 and Bitcoin has risen to $1033.53USD, I am going to make a bet today and buy some STEEM.

Just in case the price should rise. Not a lot, just a little bit of Steem.

Processing 11 seconds ago, 0.0039158 Bitcoin → 24.712 Steem
( Buy me Steem )

Sort:  

I hope that the price of steem will rise as well.

Good on ya from our earlier chats today about such matters.

I have a great post on DASH going up tonite, if you want to look for it, I spent a lot of time today learning more about it and it will be a #Crypto101 type post.

Upvoted followed and resteemed!!

Do you know what the current inflation rate of steem is ?

Could me mistaken but I believe at the hardfork 16 changes a few weeks ago, that was one of the major changes and it went from around 160% to 9%

Thanks. That makes Steem Power way more interesting :)

If you want to get really technical, it is actually 9.5%, narrowing to 0.95% by 0.01% every 250,000 blocks (Roughly 0.5% per year). There is also a 'variable' aspect to it, because when SBD is converted to STEEM, it can be done above or below the market price that it was printed at.

Ignoring all the technicalities, 9% is a pretty good estimate :)

It looks like today then is the best day to buy steem with what I have in SD !? Or do you think it will go lower later this week !? Thanks 👍😉

I have no idea what I am doing. I just am making an assumption that since the Steem price has levelled out a bit and Bitcoin is going up that Steem may increase in value in the future, and I want to diversify. I had been turning all my Steem into Steem power for a while, as you can see at steem whale , and powering up is what you want to do, but I thought I should at least get a bit of Steem just in case it does go up.

I went ahead and bought 70.00 SD worth of steem when I seen the price at .1598 ish! And I powered it up ! I read a few other blogs that commented now is the time to buy before the steemit road map comes out , which will happen at any time now , it's late in fact ! After that the price is supposed to soar ! 😉👍🚀🚀

So far this has been a good bet!

January 16 2017 Last price 0.0001883 BTC
That's a "profit" of 0.00003482 BTC or
$0.04 Canadian Dollar

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40