Is Steem for AI or for people?

in #steem7 years ago

Sooner or later AI will begin writing articles on Steemit. It may even be the case that the account holder is also an AI. How does Steemit feel about automation doing the job of writing the articles rather than just doing duration? It is only a matter of time and article writers need to know that merely reporting news is something an AI can do just as well as a human. Human writers still will have a role if they have a unique perspective with opinions but AI will be able to accomplish more and more over time.

It is already the case that AI bots leave comments but the majority are nonsensical.

References

  1. http://lewisandquark.tumblr.com/post/166569858892/slashdot-headlines-written-by-neural-network
Sort:  

Rise of the bots is quite obvious here with bots curating automatically, selling upvotes and resteems, participating in scripted interaction... It is only the logical last step for bots to actually write posts. I am getting the feeling bots will be the end of Steemit if serious measures against automatisation are not implemented in the voting algorithm soon. After all I've seen scripts on Reddit that read the media articles and summerize them better than most humans. Seeing some other comments on this text makes me think bot could make much more intelligent response.

Besides the flood of bots and the selling of votes is against the immanent initial principle of Steemit - to curate and upvote good content. Selling votes regardless of quality says also something about the suboptimal relationship between investment and return and that there is a strong need in finding additional sources of revenue.

It is clear the bots are getting the upper hand on steemit now. You only have to look at the stats for when steemit is down - the upvoting on the blockchain goes on regardless.

And comments are being botted en masse. At a guess I would suspect well over 50% of comments are now automated or manually posted 'junk comments'.

It wouldn't surprise me if automated posting is already taking place. In fact I would probably take the 'if' out of that sentence - I am pretty certain it is taking place already.

As I understand it this all goes against the founding principles of steemit - production and curating of good quality content etc.

Now will the founding fathers (and mothers?) of steemit step in and correct this 'automation to oblivion'?

I fear not...

But AI will never be as good as my posts, no matter how crazy the tech, I guarantee it :p okay, a little cocky but, I know our worth as creative human beings and the SOUL with which you write cannot be matched even by (insert whatever you want here). Steem on friends. We shall prevail.

@dana-edwards, nice post and i am looking forward to more information about steem. Post upvoted

the future is AI and its just a matter of time before this becomes reality, in some markets like trading and stock market its the Ai that are analysing data and giving us feedback, the bots are everywhere and google and face book were testing their bots, facebook had to shut down their AI after it started writing its own language that humans did not understand

nice thoughts!

Follow me for more upvoted & Upvote My Comments & resteem my post

calling 911, we got the AI bot here making some steem deals.. joking!!

You make good points.
I'm sure the AI comments will improve over time I guess, once the "content" is analysed better.

As far as "news" re-posts, and "fiction" stories go I think AI will deal with those as well.

Think I better go learn to write bot software, or is AI doing that already?

Honestly and based on what I see now. Steem seems made for bots and I already admit it. Most rewards are go to the bots.

As someone who manually reads, writes and curates, automation on Steem bugs the hell out of me. We need more human interaction, and the more bots there are, the grimmer the future of this platform is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57883.59
ETH 3070.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34