You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: torrent movies and steem

in #steem8 years ago

Yes it can be done, but I would caution against it for the following reasons:

  1. steemit.com will have to filter illegal content or risk being shutdown all together
  2. those who upvote illegal content are effectively paying for bootleg material
    a. this makes the crime and penalties much more severe for both parties
    b. this makes the poster and voters much bigger targets for lawsuits.

All of that said, there is absolutely nothing stopping a decentralized downloadable app from displaying this kind of information. This is a prime example of where a separate currency dedicated to this job might make more sense than building this on Steem. For starters, a large number of steemians will downvote illegal content whereas a dedicated platform would presumably be held by those who value that kind of sharing.

Sort:  

Thanks for the reply! much appreciated and fully agree with what you say about the caution needed. We do not want Steemit.com to be shut down, but as long as the content shared is not illegal there shouldn't be any problem.

The poster is a target irrespective if he shares the torrent in steemit or pirate bay.
The voter is in less trouble than the one who is actually downloading the torrent. As long as the content is not illegal, I can give my vote showing that I am grateful for the guy uploading some content that other people value. That doesn't mean necessarily that I have personally downloaded the content, so why would I be a target?
In piratebay there are a lot of people leaving comments and many of them may leave comments without having watched the actual content but just advertising some other business. I don't think that this is illegal in any way in any country..
If people play nice with their content, I think steemians should support this and not leave the opportunity to be exploited by another cryptocurrency or platform..

Ya, like I said below. I didn't see any replies before I posted mine. You pretty much nailed what I was saying. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 54933.05
ETH 2284.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31