I'm Not Going Anywhere - Positive About the Future of Steem!

in #steem6 years ago

Steengreen.png


Part of the Steemit community seems to be in panic mode right now, due to Ned's announcement that Steemit Inc. was laying off close to 70% of their employees. After that announcement was made, I've heard from people that they were planning to completely move away from Steem, to start over on other platforms like Medium, Whaleshares and Trybe.

While I respect everyone's choices in that regard, I can confidently say that I will not be doing that myself. In fact, these recent events have caused me to double down on my support for Steem.

In one of my previous posts, I had mentioned that I would not be investing more into Steem, unless I saw some tangible improvements and changes.

I've powered up to around 3100 Steem Power, which I think is more than enough for now. I need to see some real changes and improvements first, before I invest more. I think this is not too much to ask.

I didn't expect to change my mind so quickly, but thanks to the recent community livestream on Ned's Youtube channel, I've again regained enough confidence to continue investing.

This is what we've all been waiting for, right? More transparency from Steemit Inc. towards the community and them listening to suggestions made by members of the Steem community. Then add the fact that they've actively working towards reducing their expenses and you can see why I'm starting to be positive again about Steem's future.


team-3373638_640.jpg
Source: Pixabay


Aside from some negative reactions, we've also seen a huge part of the Steem community come together and offer their support to keep Steem alive. I'm not going to mention everybody, but the posts of @therealwolf (link) & @acidyo (link) were the ones that caught my attention and reaffirmed my beliefs that the community wasn't going to give up.

All the different Steem dApps are still going strong and will likely cause a massive influx of new members in the future. If individual dApps can become fully self-sufficient without the support of Steemit Inc., then this ship cannot be sunk! It will continue to be developed upon, regardless whether it has corporate backing or not.

Keep your cool and don't leave just yet! I'm not powering down until Steem reaches $10!


Sort:  

I'm still sticking around as well, whilst there are people like you around! But more importantly, it is also because this is one of the few chains that have launched and produced tangible and battle-tested results! Even if it isn't totally perfect...

I plan on sticking around and not going anywhere any time soon. I didn't come here for the steem to begin with and so that really doesn't play a big part in any decision I make with regard to staying or leaving.
For investors in the currency of steem, you make good valid points as investors understand it takes time for things to come together in new business ventures. Speculators are the ones who seem to be cutting and running.

I will be here with you I believe that Steem will rise again and till then I am happily staying and love the sense of community that is here
So I too am here for the long run

I'm glad to hear that, it would be pretty cool to see how we've evolved in the next couple of years :)

yes that is so true, I think we will see big changes in that time but we can only hope the changes are for good

Yup! Let's also consider how much value we're getting out of allocating some of our Steem, time, and energy into the extremely promising looking @SteemMonsters game, which gives DAILY rewards in terms of fun, community-building etc. This should help hold us all over - and keep us occupied - while the fundamentals of the larger platform of further developed and fine-tuned. I think we are in the BEST shape than ever right now. Just need to sit tight and right it out, in my opinion...

Same sentiments by me @daan, going nowhere for sure, I will miss seeing all my new friends way too much, love this community! I've been powering up for a while now.

It's good that they're cutting staff. It's a business. They have to run it like a business. If they can earn at least some profit, then they can't improve the technology. Crypto is going through a regrouping stage. It will bounce back.

You are so correct! Anyone who has worked in the business world would understand that sometimes you have to tighten your belt, re-evaluate staffing needs and right the ship! Unfortunately, people who don't see the whole picture are frightened and immediately think the worst of management. It will be interesting to see what happens next. It will take a bit of time for the dust to settle, but I am certain these layoffs were not done without a great deal planning! Good words @daan

There is just too much postive stuff going on to think that this community is dead. The community is more than alive actually and I love what is going on!

Yeah for sure, I don't know if these other websites (apart from Medium) have such active communities. How is Whaleshares doing anyway?

Building steady.. Its not as extensive as steem ofcourse but I still think it also has potential. Nothing wrong with some similar but different projects

Of course not :) I did notice Bernie calling it a scam, I wondered what that was about.

In the comments of this post btw:
https://steemit.com/steem2wls/@steem2wls/introducing-steem2wls-automatically-cross-post-your-steem-posts-to-whaleshares

Sure, but what is Ned doing on YT? He is playing guitar instead we would talk about real stuff and changes. Don't get me wrong, I don't just believe...I know Steemit will grow and stay. But some leading personas could take a little bit different path to be more efficient.

Have you not seen the most recent livestream then? He did talk about real stuff and changes.

No, I didn't. I just watched first two, I think. So I thought that's like a model for all videos which will follow. Will watch this one. Thanx

Resteemed great post daan.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60313.79
ETH 2889.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47