Here’s what Google know about YOU!

in #steem6 years ago

Google is watching you

The beginning of a new era

Thanks to the revelations by Edward Snowden we have gotten more information about the big corporations and what kind of data they collect when you are using their services, and how this information is used by both governments and other third-parties.

This has lead to the companies being a little bit more “transparent” about what kinds of data they collect about you.

I have compiled a list of data-points that Google publicly admits collecting to give you, the reader, a little more insight on what they know about you. It is broken down into three categories of information they collect about you;

Things you do, things you “create” and who you are.

Things you do:

  • Everything you search for, this includes Google searches, YouTube searches, even location searches in Google Maps.
  • All of the websites you visit, both when you click a link in your search results and also through the Google Analytics tracking pixels placed on websites to measure and analyze the website traffic.
  • Every video you have ever watched on YouTube, how long you watch for, which parts of the videos you view again, the spots in the videos where you pause, the comments and replies you write, how you react to the videos and who you subscribe to.
  • Every ad you have been presented and which of them you have clicked.
  • Your real-world position (location).
  • What types of devices you use and the versions of the software they have installed.
  • Your IP-address(es) and website cookies from other pages you visit.

Things you create:

  • All of the emails you send and receive while using Gmail, this includes all metadata the emails contain and also email attachments you send and receive.
  • All contacts you add in Gmail, Google+ and people you save in your phone contacts. (if you use an Android phone)
  • All events added to your calendar and the information you provide about them.
  • All of the files you upload, including but not limited to; Images, videos, documents, PDFs, compressed files, executables and all of the information they contain.
  • Every document, spreadsheet and presentation you create using Google Documents and all of the information they contain

Who you are:

  • Your name
  • Your email accounts
  • Your "secret" passwords
  • Your age / date of birth
  • Your gender
  • Your phone number(s)
  • Your country of origin

If you use the Google Chrome browser, every website you visit will be logged and the same goes for all forms you fill in, even if you don’t use their services or if you visit websites without tracking pixels. Information about downloads and uploads on other websites and services not provided by Google will also be collected and stored when using Chrome.

As I mentioned earlier, this is the data Google openly admits to collecting about you. I have no doubt in my mind that they are collecting even more data which we are not being told about.

So with this being said, remember to be careful when browsing the world wide web and when using tools and services connected to the Internet, you never know what information could be used against you in the future.

Thanks for reading my post, I hope you enjoyed it. Leave a comment if you would like to see more posts like this from me. Thank you.

Data sources used in this article:

Google.com - Datacollection | How Google uses your personal information

If you want to support me:

BTC: 1PC7cp1VhoVAQDkzT1z31DFKf4LzxA1AZr
ETH: 0x213126A9133Ab19815aDa9af8e7e09256D5B9C5e
LTC: LS6Sgxh1Vx3w4Eb3RRWJL8gxTxTAzK5yBq

Sort:  

I hate google

Same same... They need to quit telling me what they think I need. I don't need anything and I'm already well aware of bitcoin. lol


I can agree with you both on that!
But my life would be a lot harder without their services, unfortunately.. :(

Oh my God all these details you know Google About me She knows me more than me I do not have all these statistics Thank you for sharing this important and sensitizing topic

Yes, it is pretty darn scary! Let's just hope the information never end up in the wrong hands!
Thank you for the comment, I really appreciate it!

I have the honor to comment on your publications that are useful enough

Wow great one..I appreciate to your blog...Carry on your creativity ..Best of luck..

Thank you! I'm really glad to hear that! :)

Most welcome my friend ...I will wait for your new blog.

re steemed good blog

Thank you! That means a lot to me :) <3

Amazing,,, brilliant, I'm respect for you....!!!

Thank you :)

Thank you too d3m0t3x,,,, Greetings.....!!!

for as long as you don't do anything that is illegal then that's fine with me. anyway, i've got nothing to hide.

I can agree with you on that, but what if someone else gets access to this information, like hackers?
Thanks for the comment :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @d3m0t3x to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61585.79
ETH 3005.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68