You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is User Sentiment Up? Can Numbers Tell Us?

in #steem5 years ago

Awesome post! I am not sure why this hasn't gotten more votes.

I am more inclined to believe that prior to HF20 and HF21/22, the platform was plagued with spammers. Now with RC to control the level of spams and HF21/22 free downvotes, level of spams is reduced. Therefore, from the stats, it may seem that the level of activity was reduced but in reality we might be having an increase in actual users.

@tipu curate

Sort:  

Hey, @culgin.

I would say there's probably plenty of truth to what you say. I don't know about the increase in actual users, though, at least by the numbers. And even so, if we're saying that out of 50,000-plus posts 18 months ago to around 8,000 now that most of the difference was spammers, and we're actually seeing an increase, there really haven't been a whole lot of actual users on STEEM, which is disconcerting unto itself. Especially with well over a million accounts now lying dormant.

I think it's more likely that RCs did, yes, deter a lot of spammers, but that they also took out a lot of newer users, too, and that in between the forks, the attrition on both ends continued, until the downvotes are taking out the remaining undesirable behavior, but also discouraging more normal users.

At what ratio of spammer to actual user, I don't know. I just know that a lot of people who I used to interact with 18 months ago are gone, or have highly curtailed their posting activity here, even if they're doing other things like games and gambling, or autovoting.

As I said above, I think we'll know better by the time the next hardfork is ready what we actually have.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68418.37
ETH 3743.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65