You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem can land you in jail and it's not FUD

in #steem6 years ago

I do agree with the no-censorship policies and it's not because I support piracy or any of the other negative consequences. Once you decide to censor, you allow for the technologies and the power to censor to exist, and these can and will be used to shut people down when considered "necessary".

This is precisely the reason why I'm partially anonymous. I know that whatever I say gets recorded, forever on the blockchain or temporarily on someone's server. I know that I will want to be free, regardless of what I actually intend to say (let's not fall into the "I have nothing to hide" argument). Therefore I must contain my speech in separate identities. This gives me freedom, and in an uncensorable environment, even more freedom.

But once you take the road of censorship, beside actually shaving off the weeds of piracy and other illegal content, you are being complicit to taking away people's freedom of speech (by supporting the creation and usage of tools to delete/hide people's content)

Sort:  

I understand where you are coming from but I must say that you are perhaps looking at the problem from a fixed vantage point. Censorship is not good and not desirable. There's no argument to that. But there are reasons why it becomes necessary sometimes. My above post talks about some reasons. There are others I have written about before, like instigating religious riots through malcontent in social media. Do you really believe that the right to spread whatever one wants to is more important than people's lives? Do you believe live streaming of a murder or a rape should be allowed? No censorship can work in an ideal world with everyone being ideal citizens. In the real world, compromises are needed. The real question, I believe, is not if but how.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67363.69
ETH 3247.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66