[Piston] and [Piston.web] Dockerized !

in #steem8 years ago

This is for everyone that finds the 'Swiss army knife for STEEM' Piston project useful.
I created and deployed Docker images on Docker Hub for Piston and Piston.web Alpha version.

Now you can run [Piston] and [Piston.web] Alpha inside Docker container.

This solution has several advantages: now you can run Piston and Piston.web alpha on your Mac/ Ubuntu/Fedora/Gentoo/Windows using a simple 'docker run' command. Piston and its dependencies will not pollute your OS as everything sits inside the Docker container.

[Piston]

Pulling the image from Docker Hub

$ docker pull cryptomental/steem-piston
latest: Pulling from cryptomental/steem-piston
...
Digest: sha256:c1cadfef0fd92ca5edd537464f727cbd47406d59f08bf6431c0f413e850161d4
Status: Downloaded newer image for cryptomental/steem-piston:latest

Running the image

$ docker run -it cryptomental/steem-piston

You should end up in Docker container shell with Piston support and be able to execute Piston commands:

$ piston read @xeroc/piston-cli-quickstart

If everything goes well you should see Piston quickstart message:

[Piston.web] Alpha

Pulling the image from Docker Hub

$ docker pull cryptomental/steem-piston-web
latest: Pulling from cryptomental/steem-piston-web
...
Digest: sha256:a65d7cfcbe79826bbf2b20420c74515850c92300488d1a75d0a35347750140b3
Status: Downloaded newer image for cryptomental/steem-piston-web:latest

Running the image

$ docker run --net=host -it cryptomental/steem-piston-web

You should end up in Docker container shell with Piston.web Alpha support and be able to execute start Piston.web:

piston@cryptomental-lin:~$ piston web
Please provide a password for the new wallet
Passphrase: 
You have chosen an empty password! We assume you understand the risks!

Now open your web browser and navigate to http://127.0.0.1:5054
You should be able to access [Piston.web] interface!

I hope you enjoy my contribution and I suspect this will spread the work about Piston.web and help to alpha test it. I will be maintaining the [Piston.web] Docker image until it is merged to master branch and becomes an official part of Piston.

Dockerfile GitHub repositories are here:

https://github.com/cryptomental/docker-steem-piston
https://github.com/cryptomental/docker-steem-piston-web

Let me know if you are curious how I created the images, set up Docker Hub and connected it to GitHub. I will then describe the procedure in my next post!

Cheers!

P.S. This is my day 3 of Steem lean start-up 90 day challenge. I am still reading Mastering Bitcoin book and my head is turning from 4:3 to 16:9.

Sort:  

This is very cool!!
Your code reminds me that I need to figure out how to distribute the JS/CSS libraries used ..

Thanks! I used npm and bower to install missing dist/, but I guess you can simply add it to the current develop branch. I will remove it from the Dockerfile afterwards.

Hi @cryptomental great job,

"Let me know if you are curious how I created the images, set up Docker Hub and connected it to GitHub. I will then describe the procedure in my next post!"

Ok I'm very curious.
Could you please continue your post?
best

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66109.31
ETH 3290.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71