Asking a waiter at a my local Italian restaurant if he would accept a tip in crypto? you'd be surprise of his answer!

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

Hey fellows,

Hope you're all having a wonderful day or night wherever you are int his amazing world!!!.

IMG_4122.JPG

I just came back from dinner at this local Italian restaurant in Carlton, Melbourne. One of the waiters was so nice and offered me an excellent service and brought me that board with antipasto you see in the picture for free, so I wanted to tip him...then I though why don't I try and run an experiment to see if he would accept a tip in crypto..!!!

You know, I had one of those cryptoeureka moments where we -the crypto-enthusiasts- look at the world as it is now and imagine a parallel future world where crypto has made everything just much easier and fun.

For example, a world where the restaurant bill would also have a barcode that you can scan with your phone and pay with crypto. Or perhaps each waiter would leave a card with their names and a barcode along with the bill so you can choose to tip them if you wish.

Anyways, I decided to call the waiter,

Me: hey, sorry I was wondering if you accept a tip. The thing is that it's not in cash or card. It is in cryptocurrency, that is digital money. It is basically better than the other two.

Waiter: Oh...what? sorry i dont understand.

Me: All you need to do is download a wallet app called Jaxx. You can find it in the Apple or Google app store.

Waiter: not sure- maybe another time!

Me: :( (sad face) ok no worries.

I ordered another glass of wine so I can do a little more thinking about what just happened. I realised the average person has just no idea what this whole crypto movement is and how much potential lies there to imporve everyone's life even at a small scale like tipping.

I finished my glass of wine and went to pay the bill. When I was paying the bill, the same waiter approaches me again- this time with a tiny book and a pen. Our conversation goes as follows;

Waiter: can you please write down here what is the name of the app I need to download. Next time when you come I'll be happy to accept that tip.

Me: :) - sure!

I then realised that after all, it might not be long until this whole thing reaches everyone. We might not be that far from that bright future.

Mayra xoxo

Sort:  

The momentum is gaining and fast. UBER drivers are now accepting CRYPTO as a form of payment, which just makes my life so easy. Thanks for sharing

ubber drivers where? in the US? that's excelnt news. It hasn't got down under yet as far as I know.

Yes in the US. It shouldn't take too long for the idea to filter to you guys. Thanks

I've given thought to opening a crypto coffee shop here in the States.

Though we'd accept fiat at a premium.

Great idea Dave!!! I am also working on the same idea. Would love to open a crypto cafe here in Melbourne. From decor to payments all crypto with a crypto ATM. Have a bit of a gallery showing all crypto... I'd be the first one to do it!! Only issue is coming up with the investment atm.

The Crypto Cafe. !!! Excellent forsight and idea

Next time I am in Melbourne, I will totally do the same thing! We are going to get a wallet on that guys phone sooner or later!

one of another good story

I'm always asking people if they'll accept cryptocurrency. It really is the best way to spread the word. I've had a couple people look into it, and the next time you see them they're all into it. Same thing with internet shopping. I always ask if they'll accept bitcoin or some other cryptocurrency of their choosing.

REVOLUTIONARY!!!! sharing to my Facebook pages! :D
upvoted, following, and also resteeming!

https://www.facebook.com/powerofthepeopleaustralia/
https://www.facebook.com/wetheninetyninepercent/

We're going to start accepting Bitcoin within the next week. It's happening, slow but sure! Keep on puttin' out the vibe!

I had never heard of Jaxx. I'll have to look into that.
Having looked at jaxx, I'm kinda neutral about it. It doesn't support steem (not a big surprise), though it might in the future.

More importantly, I'm going to do all my tipping in crypto from now on.

Tipping is culturally required here in America (for those of you overseas) even for mediocre or sometimes bad service. So I'm sure there will be a lot more crypto users in my area soon!

Jaxx will be ading a bunch of coins soon. I am crossing fingers they add STEEM :)

Way to make your post nice and short-good format

Wonderful story! Looks like people are slowly awakening to this new reality. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68201.16
ETH 2640.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72