You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ⏺Why I am not a millionaire yet.. Part 1: Procrastination

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

I've been thinking about all these side businesses I've wanted to get into and make into full time gigs later in life...for years. For a couple of years I thought I wanted to flip houses and get into rental property but the reality right now is I don't have enough capital (or time).

However, after about 5 years of pondering the road to self-employment but doing nothing about it, I've started to act the past 2 months. I've discovered that buying, fixing, and selling used cars can be profitable and I have a friend who works in a body shop (I'm an engineer) who's become a business partner in this venture with me. We got our first car last month and have mostly fixed it up...just needs paint and a little bit of cleaning before we sell it.

There's also teemit and cryptocurrencies but they're something I consider a hobby but in 5-10 years (conveniently my target for leaving my soul-sucking corporate job) it might pay off big time. But for now I'm just having fun doing it. It consumes time and pays money so I guess it can be considered a side venture lol.

I also am considering getting into home inspections as many home inspectors are mechanical engineers like me. There's a good bit of learning involved and also licensing and gaining credibility but the overhead cost of it isn't prohibitive for me as of now so that's another thing I'm planning to get into in the next 1-2 years.

Best of luck to you in your journey to wealth. Upvoted and...oh wait, I'm already following you lol :)

Sort:  

Woah man, love this comment.

I enjoyed how open you were towards thing in your life. You're holding nothing back when telling a story. It's great! I think it's awesome that you have realized these things. Better late than never! It's weird how life works hey? You go on the same path for a long time, knowing something needs to change, it's looking right at you, but you miss it... Then all of a sudden, thing come into realization and you know exactly what you need to do. Things just fall into place.

Congrats man. I wish you the best for your success to come. I also appreciate those words of encouragement!

Talk soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58734.46
ETH 2636.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43