You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My thoughts about the Steem gaming ecosystem

in #steem4 years ago

Hi @danmaruschak regarding this,

It would be great if it was easy (and free?) to set up a digital storefront for things like PDFs and ebooks.

steemleo/leofinance had this with their leoshop here https://steemleo.com/leoshop#how-product-listings-are-stored
they going to move to hive blockchain. Perhaps steem should have steemshop setup too like you suggested. Patreon version on steem sounds great too. If only any developer could do that.

Sort:  

Yes, I think they were trying to do it. In my opinion they were partly missing the point of the SBD by treating it like any other crypto coin, though. It's somewhat understandable since historically the weak dollar peg hasn't kept the price tracking very closely, but if people treat SBDs as just a secondary coin that has a price that's just as arbitrary as STEEM then there isn't a huge point to using SBDs.

Can anyone explain to me why only automated sales sites seem to interest people? What is wrong with manual sales posts that emulate the Buy & Sell sections of print newspapers?

urmmm.. more efficient? Less time-consuming? I want blockchain that friendly for the affiliate marketer, and I hope steem will accommodate that.

I can understand about affiliate marketing, but more efficient and less time consuming? I don't see how. Someone who has something to sell posts an advertisement and those looking to buy read the ads and respond to those they are interested in. What would automation be able to make more efficient and/or less time-consuming? What point/idea am I missing?

I think that depends on the type of product. Let say if I advertise ebook then buyer interested to buy, buyer make payment with Steem/SBD then need to wait for me to confirm the payment done/waiting time depend on our timezone, after confirmation on payment, then send the book to the buyer. I was thinking how nice if the process can be automated. So the buyer won't need to wait for long for the ebook because of the different timezone/other seller real life obligation.
Another example if I sell a house then this should be do manually as per usual transaction on newspaper buy-sell that you mentioned of.

Ah! Thank-you for the explanation. So what you would like is a shopping cart set-up. This can't be done directly on the blockchain at this time, so would require that you go to an off-chain website to make the purchase and get the link for your download immediately.

I was thinking more about physical sales, where an item must be shipped, so it wouldn't be immediate anyway. I appreciate your insight.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44