You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEM Solution: We Need To Do This To Make Steemit A Huge Success

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

I always try to reward quality content comments too (even though I do get behind due to my daily allowance being used up). My main filter is the question: does the comment add value? Put another way, does the comment give other contributors something of value, something that they would value? If I think it's very valuable, I give it a full 100% upvote (about 1/2 of my votes are at 100%), if it's valuable, a 50%, and if the answer is maybe, then 25%, more or less. Sometimes I give a 10% upvote to someone who only says they like the post or thanks me for posting. Even a thank you has its value. 😉

Engagement is just as important. If you want quality interaction and commitment, you've got to do the same yourself, but since this thread is about using your Steem Power by upvoting and distributing rewards that are in the rewards pool and need to be distributed, I'll say no more about that.

My second filter is staying on topic. 😄

Resteemed.

Sort:  

Great comment @cryptographic which gives me an idea for another post.

Upvotes, quantity versus quality?

You choose to limit the number of votes you give but have them carry a lot of impact when you do give them. Hence, less people are profiting yet those who do get a vote from you really do well. I know you are not just running around in a circle upvoting your friends so you do share it with whomever or whatever catches your eye.

Compare that with some who do a ton of voting yet do at a reduced rate. I, for example, might upvote the same person 8 or 9 times a day if they are commenting a lot (and sound comments like you said).

Just different approaches. It could make for a good discussion. Time to start writing.

Good point. I should probably do a 50/50 allotment - half rewarding outstanding contributions, and the other half supporting more everyday stuff that cumulatively makes a very important long term contribution.

My main problem is time though. I only have roughly an hour a day to dedicate to Steemit. That's why I tend to upvote in larger quantities.

But I'm going to see what I can to to balance things a little better.

Cheers

I just put up the post...hopefully we get a nice conversation going on it.

By the way, I didnt mean to insinuate that there was any problem with your approach. Is rewarding more people better or is the site better served by you finding what you deem outstanding content and really giving it a nice financial hit? Perhaps the later is what is needed.

And yes, with time being limited for you, passing around a ton of votes simply does not work for you. You would end up not using your daily voting power.

I just put up the post...hopefully we get a nice conversation going on it.

By the way, I didnt mean to insinuate that there was any problem with your approach. Is rewarding more people better or is the site better served by you finding what you deem outstanding content and really giving it a nice financial hit? Perhaps the later is what is needed.

And yes, with time being limited for you, passing around a ton of votes simply does not work for you. You would end up not using your daily voting power.

But a better balance on my part would be worth the effort I think. Sometimes we miss the trees for the forest. Thanks for pointing out the trees! 😁

Balance?

Oh you mean like balancing between BTS and STEEM?

I understand now. LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58188.83
ETH 2585.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40