You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEM and BTS going Prime Time!

in #steem6 years ago

Very nice resource. Thanks. Looking forward to your blog post later on.

As for the criteria, it looks very good to me, especially with STEEM and BTS scoring high in the first three and the last main areas, and only less than high when it comes to market supply and demand (which will only improve as time goes on).

I think 7-8 will be difficult to sell as it is a highly speculative investment to begin with and, being so, demands more diversification, but that's just my opinion.

Sort:  

To be honest I don't know if that is the case. Investors that are going to put their money with the Coinbase fund are likely aware of the risk. Also what does diversified portfolio mean in crypto ? If BTC goes down, they all go down if BTC goes up not all of them follow immediately. So the bottom line is that even if you are extremely diversified, so far every coin out there follows BTC more or less. The correlation is extremely stromg, which makes their pitch about the limited basket of coins look easy.

Just my opinion also. Definitely very possible to add 20 - 30 coins. I guess we will see very soon :)

The correlation is strong, until it isn't. I don't think it's a question of if, only a question of when the big potential "upstarts" decouple with the generalized correlation. Being market weighted BTC is bad enough, and limiting the portfolio size only makes matter worse. Risk increases as potential reward falls. It should be the opposite in my view.

I understan your point and agree in general. But looking at this market - The common thought process is the following

  1. If BTC goes down I will sell my alts, cuz if BTC goes down everything goes down.
  2. If you look at the alts at the moment compared to BTC, it's a lot better your potfolio to have BTC compared to a basket of alts.
  3. When BTC was at 6k STEEM and BTS were at 2.50$ and 0.16$. Currently BTC is at 9200$ and STEEM is at 2.38$ and BTS 0.156$ - The point being that people prefer to sell their alts and buy BTC when bitcoin is on a good discount rather than buy altcoins.

I am not saying that this is good or Coinbase should have 3-4 asssets, I am saying that at the moment people prefer to have BTC compared to alts and that could be seen from the charts.

Personally my long-term portfolio does not have any BTC or ETH as I believe Blockchain 3.0 will be much more preferred.

Thanks for the discussion, it's really great to have a meaningful discussion on Steemit, happens rarely to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58665.81
ETH 3153.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44