You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Better the Devils you know, than the Devil you don't" ... Migrating to a new blockchain

in #steem4 years ago

Excellent breakdown as usual Quill, you've articulated my feelings perfectly. I have read many witness articles in the past two weeks that have really smacked of hypocrisy.

I've read a few with downright anger shaking through my bones, especially when I see people in the comments fawning over them because they want their votes, not because they think they're right.

They are banging on about decentralisation now, however as you and I know, Steemit and therefore its associated currency Steem, never was decentralised in the first place.

The witnesses preferred Ned's centralisation because it enriched them, and put them in a place of power. However when he left, that created an uncomfortable power vacuum, because it made them come to terms with the fact that all their power, lay at the control of Ned.
5
They were the ones to push things like the 50/50 content/creator split, which is obviously ridiculous, to try and suggest that I am creating as much value for the chain by clicking a button, as someone who puts as much thought and time into their articles, like yourself, is obviously bunkum.

However, most of the whales and witnesses are curators, ergo they wanted a larger slice of the pie. Thus suddenly creators and curators are the same....

Anyway, I'm finding it quite funny how they are all crying wolf now, my only hope is Justin eventually puts people in charge who know what they're doing.

Oh, and I didn't know they had treated @timcliff like that, so I'll go and give him a witness vote, not that it will make much difference of course, but still, it's a show of support.

Cg

Sort:  

@cryptogee,

Hey Crypt.

First of all, "bunkum" ... good word. You Brits really do enrich the language. ;-)

When I read through all the rage-filled diatribes, I find myself in a state of disbelief. Yes, I agree, no one has handled any of this particularly well. But, come on, Justin Sun is not Lex Luthor and writing code doesn't make you Superman. Put things in perspective people.

If it were not for the Coronavirus, I would cite this as the largest case of mass hysteria I've ever witnessed.

I agree with you completely on the 50/50 author/curator split. The higher-ups finally caved into the pressure about bidbots and so had to replace one gravy train with another. No one is more supportive of professional curators than I but authoring is about creating quality while curation is about consuming quantity. If it takes me 5 hours to create a post and it takes you 5 minutes to read it, you can curate 100 times faster than I can create. Surely that justifies the traditional 75/25 split. But the Whales and Witnesses have always got to rig it so that they are getting something for nothing. Take a look at my feed ... I stopped posting after HardFork 21 for exactly this reason.

Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me.

Keep talking reason Ol' Boy. Slowly, it'll rattle a few cages.

Quill

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59036.72
ETH 2970.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73