Steemit.com - What is the honorable thing to do?

in #steem8 years ago

Angel Versus Devil

Alright, I would like to contribute to this platform but I have many questions about how to go about it.

For example, I was just about to post a video from one of my favorite youtuber Computing Forever . He does amazing social commentaries and tech related youtube videos.

Now I realize that if his content is upvoted and appreciated on the platform, the rewards would go to me and the people who participate in the voting process.

I realized it might be a bad idea...Karmically.

So I sent him an email saying this:

Hi! I'm a huge fan of your regressive news that you create. It is much needed and I want to thank you for it. Now, I just wanted to let you know of something important because I was about to post your videos unto steemit.com and earn reward from your content. I figured that it would be the honorable thing for me to give you the opportunity to post it yourself and earn reward for the content YOU've created. You can learn more about it at Steem.io - Let me know if you don't intend on posting there because there are thousands of dollars at stake. They have a well done whitepaper if you are curious about the intricate details of the platform.

Was that the right thing to do?

If so, is there a way to reward people for bringing in content creators like this guy? Because it goes against my economic incentives to actually tell him to post his own stuff...unless I am misunderstanding something right now.

Please correct me if I misunderstand how the platform works.

Sort:  

Maybe I'm misunderstanding something, but to quote the Steem White Paper, "Value is in the Links."

You are providing value to the content creator by increasing viewership and to the viewers you bring in by sharing valuable content! Once the reward becomes high enough to be truly noticeable, your YouTuber might jump in himself. :)

I think you could maybe approach it this way. send him an email asking him if it is alright to post his content on steemit. if he would agree and gives you permission then post it. if you happen to make some good money on the content , lets say $1000 dollars . you could then email him back telling him that you appreciated the content he allowed you to post and that you have some money to give him and maybe give him half ( or whatever you decide) of what you made from it. at that time you can explain to him more about steemit.com and how to set him up an account. this way you kill 2 birds . you posted some good content that made you some money and you have helped Steemit gain a valuable new member as well.

While I agree with the earlier comment by @camsbury that the value here is in the links (and in doing so you give the youtuber valuable traffic and views, which is what they are after), it is also the case that steem is a new thing and trying different approaches such as this one to see what catches on is worthwhile.

Originally we tried creating an account for people who create original content, posting some of their work under that account, contacting them to show them how much they made and then we would turn the account over to them. That didn't work out so well to date since no one has responded to our emails.

We believe it's because people see an email saying you can make money doing something and they immediately assume it's spam and don't fully read or grasp how easy it would be to claim those funds.

So now we will simply donate all proceeds their content earned directly to them in Bitcoin (usually) and email them as a donor and let them know where all of that juicy BTC came from (Steemit) and that it came from their own work in an attempt to bring them here. We feel that they are more likely to read an email from a large BTC donor (large for a single article donation) letting them know how the funds were earned. :)

pardon if the answer is clear somewhere else, though I'm very new to the platform...

are there specific guidelines published anywhere on the protocol for posting others' content?

i.e. if we're sharing content we didn't create, what exact details must we include to specify it is syndicated and not original content?

if there are such guidelines, where are they to be found?

You're asking the wrong person about guidelines. I generally don't follow them if they exist and they are usually created after I've done something others find offensive. Regardless, this is a blockchain and there are no rules. Make your own rules and see what works for you. This is a popularity contest. We could post the same thing and you could make thousands, while I would be downvoted into oblivion. If you want to make $$$, pander to the whales! Just don't point out the obvious pandering publicly or you will not receive the whale love. Let me be your living example of how not to behave on Steem ... if you value money over integrity. :)

I did the same thing with a youtuber i liked. Iposted one of their videos then sent i message to him about the platform with a link to the post.

I would suggest a combination of providing a link to your steemit post (as per @pheonike suggestion) and donating some BTC to them if a significant amount of income is generated from use of their material ( as per @mldorton) . Although I would suggest putting the steemit post details in the YouTube comments section, to help publicise the benefits of steemit more widely.

Thank you for introducing me to this Computing Forever guy.
I have watched a couple of episodes by him and the very recent one struck me the most. At 9:10 he explicitly suggests "crowdfunding a new platform":

We need to form something, we need to crowdfund something. A new platform. [...]. You could build something. And preempt it instead of waiting for the time when we can't even communicate with each other any more. [...] We need a place, we need to form a company, we need to get people from all over the world who believe in free speech.

It's a shame a guy with such views is doomed to use YouTube while there is Steem and while he openly declares the desire to find a new home for his show.

It would be amazing, if we could reach out to him and invite him to take a look at Steem. Steem is exactly the kind of platform he is alluding to in his video. Imagine what can happen to Steem if we joined forces with him and 100k of his subscribers.

As you already noticed, your honesty is much appreciated here on steemit !!!
Maybe you made more $ choosing the honest path... :)

I can see that now 0_0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80