STEEM - What Difference Does It Make?

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

questions.png

When I launched my Christmas Photo Contest, I didn't realize what would happen next.

What I saw was an incredible display of the human condition all around the world. Wonderful people celebrating the joy of Christmas. From Kiev to Peru with quite a bit of Nigeria!

Then, as I was upvoting the comment section with my 5% "Christmas Upvote" that is worth $3.50 SBD (when cashed out and turned into STEEM is actually worth about $10 US), it hit me and made me wonder:

What Difference Does it Make?

You see, in Canada, an extra $10 a day doesn't make a massive difference. I may allow for a nice meal with my wife every week at a fancy restaurant or maybe it would pay for a life insurance policy in case something bad happens to me.

But my comment section is filled with people who live in countries where to value of $10 US could means something completely different. Maybe it pays for all of your kids to go to a better school, maybe it allows you to get a better water system to irrigate your farm? Who knows!

This is your assignment for today!

Let's say I were to upvote your comment 5 times a week at a value of $10US for a total of $50 USD a week...What difference does it make in your life? What would you do with that money to make your life and your environment better?

Don't spare any details. I can't wait to upvote the best comments!

PS: I will start flagging comments that looks like bots, that are too short (ie: nice articles! or <3) and those that makes no sense at all. Sorry for those who may be offended but it's time to clean up.

Sort:  

I am from Venezuela where the minimum wage is around 5 dollars per month. The problem here is we have a government control that forbids citizens to freely exchange currencies, so the black market rate for a dollar is incredibly high, reducing the purchasing power of the people, because the majority of things here are imported.

So knowing this, you must realize steemit is a blessing for us venezuelans.

What difference does it make in your life? it allows me to first, don’t be poor in my country. By getting good upvotes here I can achieve a good income and gain a little of financial independence. I can more easily go out and eat on a restaurant, or simply saving money. That’s a big difference with regular Venezuelans right now that don’t have savings and are struggling to buy basic food.

What would you do with that money to make your life and your environment better? my life can get better if crypto succeeds and I manage to achieve success here on steemit. Better because I will be able to have a higher purchasing power, get a few savings and maybe in the future be able to make investments. I am hoping to buy new electronics next year. Thanks to steemit and the upvotes I receive

About my environment, I don’t know if you mean things like the nature? But anyways, I am trying to promote steemit to the people that I know to see if they join and can start to get involved in the crypto world, because this could be a good help for them.

I'll be with my boyfriend at Christmas .. We're both college students. We rented a hotel in a nearby sea city and we gave all of our allowance there. we can get a nice red wine with an extraordinary income and Christmas can be more beautiful for us ..
I hope you see my comment

@cryptoctopus

It’s not offense because we should realize that people take lot of time creating content and it’s for us to engage and connect with one another on. You did not care and gave out rewards with a big heart and it should be used the right way. Props to you for that

In Estonia for ~200 usd or ~ 165 euro i can pay bill for my apartment ,internet,electricity and mobile phone at winter ( heating cost like 80 % of bill) :) For making life better and my environment i think need to start with my parents for them its extra money to drugs ( they are 60 years old and here pension is like ~ 250 euro per month , so without work its super hard to survive for them , and all drugs and pills cost like in high end european country. )

Hello @cryptoctopus, am Braide from Nigeria. I must say you have been doing a great job so far on steemit. 💜💜💜💜

Your 5% vote is a nice one.
It make a whole lot of difference, For example in Nigeria, A civil servant is being paid less than 40$ for whole month and most times it doesnt come on time, some times it extends to the following month .

My Life
Your upvotes goes a long way to help my academics. University of Port Harcourt is resuming by next monday, and my hostel rent, tuition fee need to be renewed which is 60$ , your votes will go along way to raise this money. And also through the money I have earned, I could also purchase more goods to help my offline cloth business.

My environment
The same way you have extended your votes to me , that's how others earn when I also vote them, in this people are less dependent on the government and their standard of living is improved. Life is a circle.💯

For you it might be just upvotes, but $50 per week can amount up to $ 2400 USD per year. For many people in Africa, this could support them and their families, as it's more than the average annual salary!

source

If you really continue this, you will be the reason some children can go to school, some folk will get the medical care they need, you will end up making the difference between a life in poverty and a life where opportunities arise and people may thrive.

i'm an university student in the real life. got a lot of works to do, so having a limited time to present in social medias. i need to pay 820 usd for a semester fee. so, with 50 usd weekly, every month i can collect 200 usd & in the 5th month, it can collect my next semester fee. therefore, i won't ask money from my parents to pay semester fee again. i'm happy about it @cryptoctopus

@resteemia
reteemed & upvoted & commented & followed

@cryptoctopus - Sir to answer your question I wish to use an photography that I used few days back with your Xmas contest...

In 2020 this Cute Button will go to school... To get him to a good school & give him education to be a good person is my only hope... So, all upvotes I'm getting as the reward is collecting to build his future...
Thanks to you I have a hope now, Thanks to Steemit I have a income to build that dream... Therefore, with your simple 2% upvote my dream is building day by day... Thank you very much Sir... God bless you & your family & your future hopes too...

+W+

@cryptoctopus You sir, you are one of the most kind people I know on the internet. And I mean it by that. It is brilliant to give some people upvotes which makes a difference in their life while it only costs us voting power. Hence, help people!

First of all thanks a lot for supporting us and helping us to grow on this platform. I belong to a middle class family so my parents can't afford much, I used to sit at home and prepare for my competitive exams. Now with your huge upvotes I can afford to go to the library and pay my PG rents that's a huge support for me. I thank you from the bottom of my heart for helping us to achieve the desired goal of our life. May God bless you with all good things in your life.

@cryptoctopus,
Sorry for the delay, it's 7:53 am here and came to the work place and just found this post!
Before answering this post, I would like to tell you 1 USD = 154 LKR (Sri Lankan Rupees)

What difference does it make in your life?
Your upvote gives me 50 USD per week, it equals to 154 * 50 * 4 = 30800 LKR.
It's absolutely 50% my monthly wages.

What would you do with that money to make your life and your environment better?
I could pay my house rental and all bills with this money! And my parents Medical bills can be pay off too!

So, this is a huge opportunity and thank you for understanding the value of your 3% upvote and how it could be help to make others lives a better heaven! God bless you dear friend!

Cheers~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57889.17
ETH 3155.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42