My Simple Step By Step Chili Relish

in #steem4 years ago


source

Now we are all at home we have no excuse to test our cooking skills. We have a restaurant near us called Callisto's which is a Portuguese restaurant that serves the best Chilli relish I have ever eaten. The trip to the restaurant is worth it just for the relish on a crispy roll besides all the things on the menu.If you have no skills have no fear as even a moron like you can make this.

I will be making this over the next day or so as I didn't know the recipe was available online. I have tried to replicate this from taste alone, but it was never quite the same. If it is what it says it is I will be making bucket loads of this stuff as it is addictive.

Ingredients that you need. I would personally increase the numbers as you will kick yourself afterwards for making such a small batch.

3 Pickled Onions

1 Red onion.

2-3 Cloves of Garlic

1 Cup chopped Red and Green Chillies

1/3 Cup Vegetable Oil

1/4 Teaspoon of Salt

2 Good pinches of Sugar

2 Tablespoon Lemon Juice

1/4 Teaspoon Tomato Paste from the shop.

  • additional 1/4 Cup Vegetable Oil

The cooking process is fairly simple and it will be difficult to go wrong. Honestly even the simplest of idiots can do this as there are no real cooking skills involved.

Step by step guide.

Drop the chillies and garlic into a food processor and roughly chop them up.
Finely slice the onions.
Heat the oil in the saucepan and add the onions. Don't brown just saute them.Once the onions are soft add in the chillies and garlic which you chopped up in the food processor.
Now add the salt,sugar and lemon juice.
Let this simmer away making sure any water that has come out of the chillies evaporates.
Add the tomato paste ad mix thoroughly.
Finally add the extra oil to just cover everything. Let everything cool down and bottle it.

This is so simple and even I can do this. I honestly swear by this relish and this is something I can eat just on it's own with a slice of fresh bread. The heat of the Chili you can adjust to your taste by keeping the seeds in or out.

I couldn't wait and have just made the first batch and needs a little altering as I am going to blow everyone's head off.I think I can get this spot on and will take a few attempts. getting the correct heat is tricky so I would leave out most of the chili seeds in the first batch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25