First week done after playing with Beempy.

in #steem5 years ago

Over the past week I have been playing with a great tool that @holger80 devised. The tool is called Beempy and it is easy to use and it shows you what the curation rewards are on posts and at what times. A comment on my post by @revisesociology informed me about Beempy. I had no idea before that and was shooting in the dark trying to work out vote times. I think it has helped, but has left me with more questions than answers.

I think taking a look will definitely change your thought process on some of times that you vote on. It is really hard to get it spot on as every post is different. One post could have an extra vote or two and depending on where someone voted will change the percentages of everyone following that vote. Use it as a guide as nothing is set in stone.

I will give you some examples so you can understand what I am trying to say.This is one of my posts from a few days ago.

https://beempy.com/curation/@cryptoandcoffee/one-year-on-and-how-the-figures-stack-up

curation_performance.png
On this particular post the key time with the best reward was at 10 minutes reaping in around 150 % which is a decent return. Do you see how it trails off the closer you get to the 15 minute mark.
curation_performance (1).png
Here is another one of my posts and see again how different it is. Looking through them I would say a safe bet is the 11 to 12 minute mark. This could change though on the next post, but at least you are giving yourself a chance to reap a few more rewards on the curation side of things.

Decent returns can be made on posts that don't earn a lot as it is the percentage you are making. I see lots of users chasing certain authors who have high rewards and are getting nothing in return. They are falling into the trap thinking that the Dollar signs will reflect in their vote value on curation.

I went and had a look on Trending now and checked some posts from the normal names that appear there and 99 percent of the users voting on them are getting 30 percent returns. A handful are getting 200 percent or so, but they are the rare ones. In my opinion they are living in fantasy land and making nothing back on their votes. I don't believe in chasing votes for the reward, but if you are voting on an author anyway you may as well get the best possible return.

I will finish off leaving you with this post as some of the users out there are real gems for rewards and maybe you are lucky enough to be following them already.This post netted me close to a 400 percent return and I didn't have to change my vote times. The next post by this same author netted only 60 percent so it does vary hugely. Curation rewards are hit and miss unless you are a bot and know what is going on it seems.
curation_performance (2).png

I have increased by around 15-20 percent over the last week in curation rewards and that is still sticking with the same authors. I just checked now what my curation is for the last week and it is sitting on 16.1 SP for 3700 SP which is a decent return. I think with more playing I can hit 5 SP per 1000 SP so I have a way to go yet. This is my challenge that I want to achieve and is difficult as I am voting on comments as well ,so it could be impossible.

Sort:  

Very interesting. I didn't know this app existed too. There are so many apps around Steem blockchain these days.

Posted using Partiko Android

Setting mine to 11minutes now

Hey that's great - a 15-20% increase for tweaking is awesome, but fair play it's not worth changing everything just for the sake of increasing curation rewards!

Posted using Partiko Android

You are 100 percent right. There is no point in changing everything as it will just change again anyway. If we can just better what we have by a small percentage then that should be good enough.

Hi, @cryptoandcoffee!

You just got a 7.2% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Honestly, I may have to rethink my delegation to OCDB if I'm able to start hitting 5 SP per 1000 SP in curation rewards. I think my current 1200 SP delegation gets me about 4 SP per week.

If you make it to the 5 SP mark let me know and I've never seen a curration reward for that much that's insane!

I checked some trending posts as well and most of the curation rewards for those were crap. I assume because of the incentive to find low valued posts and give them upvotes rather than just voting on posts already making alot of rewards.

As you were saying with the trending posts you bearly get a lookin but I think these are the posts beemphy will help you optimize. The rest is just guess work. Im just sticking at 10 minutes and it will average out in the end

I don't think it will help on Trending posts as there are too many votes coming in early on these authors. They all know bots are coming and if someone wanted to make rewards, other posts are far better for returns.

But you will be able to maximise your curation from these posts . iF 80% are upvoting at 8 minutes. You get in at 7. Most of the large accounts have same accounts following them so it will be easier to maximise your returns here. The smaller accounts will be up and down so there will be know way of knowing when to upvote exactly. By the time you get the info the parameters have changed.

Wow, that is pretty impressive. I was just talking to my brother in law yesterday and I was trying to explain all of this to him and I was telling him about your process. I think I lost him at some point and his eyes started to glaze over. I had fun talking about it though :)

You got a 9.65% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @cryptoandcoffee! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 60 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Hi @cryptoandcoffee!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.971 which ranks you at #3966 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 5 places in the last three days (old rank 3971).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 238 contributions, your post is ranked at #91.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Howdy sir cryptoandcoffee! well so it really is a crap shoot isn't it, if everything is changing all the time. Very interesting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99