CURATION STARTING TO PAY EVEN THOUGH SOME AUTHORS ARE STILL UPVOTING EARLY.

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Hammie.jpg

I know the hardfork hasn't taken affect yet but it has changed things a little already. The posts being submitted since late Tuesday are going to be affected as early author votes will be penalized and lost to the pool. The ones that are aware of this change are voting a lot later which is having an impact on curation rewards.

The accounts that are still self voting are either unaware of this or are waiting to see how much they will have lost. I have a feeling that quite a few are unaware and are in for a nasty shock come Tuesday next week.

Just in the last few days I have noticed a massive jump in curation and could end up doubling what I was achieving before without changing a thing. I also believe that these accounts that were early voting for their own posts will actually make more on post payouts as they will start receiving more votes.

Certain accounts will be more lucrative than others and with a correctly timed vote will make a huge difference to the smaller accounts. I think from next week when certain accounts realize this and the penalties of lost early voting things will be even brighter for everyone. You need to be aware of any changes as not knowing will eventually cost you in the long run.

Image source istock.com

Sort:  

That is one great eye opener. Indeed the post which we are writing right now will be paid out after HF20 is in effect. So, I need to remind myself to uncheck the box in busy concerning the self vote.
Thanks for the warning.
Cheers,
Peter

Hi Peter. It has been in effect since late on Tuesday. I am curious to see what happens and how the payouts change with the early voting of authors. I honestly think it is a good thing and don't think it will harm the ones if they vote later anyway and in fact think they will actually benefit more.

I did uncheck the box in busy.
But I am curious how things will evolve with the small upvotes. Lot's of curation trails are full of these.

We were warned that they would be lost to the new taxing system so if the voters haven't changed their percentages then they haven't paid attention and we will have to wait and see.

For some reason i was not really a fan of self voting, yes this will really improve curating these large accounts as there are bound to be more curation rewards. But thanks for sharing the information

It has made a difference on my curation already.

Is steemit doing away with self voting? That will be so helpful to the platform if it can be done

No they are not doing away with it. The new hardfork made changes where an author who makes a post will be penalized if they vote early. You can still vote on your post if you wish but just do it after 15 minutes and you will be fine.

I thought they were doing away with self voting. Thanks for the clarification.

I think though, that as it is still a reverse auction there may be gains to be had by voting on posts before the 15 min window ends. Most likely for Popular posts in my opinion between 8 and 12 mins. In fact with the immediate self voting curation being returned to the pool the advantages might be even better

I think you are right and have been experimenting. It is actually quite fun and if you can nail it correctly then you are in the pound seats. I love messing with figures so I am sure there is a sweet spot somewhere.

I think I will aim for 12. It feels good, lol

Hi @cryptoandcoffee!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.818 which ranks you at #11935 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 148 places in the last three days (old rank 12083).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 516 contributions, your post is ranked at #123.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

What are the timings changed to? So say if you upvoted me after a minute what happens?

Best time is closer to 15 minutes. Before it was best between 15 and 30 minutes. I have been playing around and 14 minutes seems a sweet spot so anywhere around there is good. Before the masses, especially on my posts lol.

sir cryptoandcoffee! so this is some good news if it's actually increasing are voting rewards! thanks for the information sir!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79