You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can we have downvotes and at the same time prevent 'flag wars'?

in #steem4 years ago

Hi @jaki01

I just replied to one of your comments and then I've noticed your publication. Please allow me to repeat:

What would you say about an idea to build some blacklist and ensure that users who would end up on this blacklist wouldn't be able to upvote (their upvote wouldn't provide any rewards and it's value would be zero).

That would obviously have to be programmed by STINC, who would have to adjust their API.

Yours, Piotr

Sort:  

I think I would prefer to counter upvotes respectively flags of these accounts automatically to neutralize them.
Then no intervention on blockchain level would be necessary, and the decision could be easily reversed again.

Thanks for such a prompt reply @jaki01

I'm simply afraid, that abusers will outnumber those who are trying to fight with abuse.

And mostly that they will have more patience and will wear us out. Reality is that if I would have to keep tracking down and downvoting same people, over and over again - then I would give up sooner than later.

We need some solution, that would allow to block more "permanently" abusers from being able to place upvotes.

ps. do you use discord? perhaps you could join project.hope server and DM me. I would gladly get to know you closer, since we're on the same page now and we are both trying to figure out how to protect our investment (steem).

https://discord.gg/9wAJ4C

Yours, Piotr

I'm simply afraid, that abusers will outnumber those who are trying to fight with abuse.

I think the mentioned (or an additional?) 'committee' account with enough delegated SP from Steemit, Inc. would be able to successfully combat abuse.

I think your idea is very centralized (even more than mine) and conflicts with my ideal of censorship resistance.

Concerning Discord, I am using it but don't have much time for chatting. I will join your channel, but please don't expect too much ... :)

Dear @jaki01

I think your idea is very centralized (even more than mine) and conflicts with my ideal of censorship resistance.

i agree. it's very centralized. however downvotes already has been proved to create more tension, dramma, killing userbase and it's simply not working.

I've few good friends, who are right now "milking steem" like crazy. And when I asked them if they aren't worried to be downvoted - I received interesting answer: flaggers will get bored sooner or later.

That's the problem. Those who abuse system, they go "quiet" for several days after been downvoted and then they are coming back. Perhaps unnoticed. Or they simply carry on, knowing that they will win at the end of the day.
@ haejin is great example.

@haejin has no chance on HIVE ...
If persistent 'farmers' got flagged automatically, then they soon might stop having fun here. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39