You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SBD WTF?

in #steem6 years ago

I have a mindset that SBD should always be a (one) U.S. dollar based on the system in place. Obviously I don't control these things, but when I see that SBD is more than a dollar, I am getting rid of it the second it hits my wallet, have been for the past month I guess. I prefer it to have the stability than pretending to be all ecstatic when it hit over ten dollars recently.

Your post is the first time I have seen the mention of BitUSD/Bitshares and it not being someone spamming it without giving any technical information as to why it even exists. No joke I have been on Steemit for over a year and my only thoughts on Bitshares is scamcoin that somehow got tied to Steemit users. This is only because even when I have asked about it, I would not get replies. I could probably do a search and find comments with me asking about it and getting no replies which only added to me thinking it is a shitty altcoin people on Steemit are just trying to make a buck with.

Sort:  

I like you have been using Steemit for some time now and I also got used to the mindset that 1 SBD should be around 1 USD. Unfortunately, it's no longer the case. I also dump all my SBD when I get a payout because I know sooner or later it will fall, and I will not be surprised if one day SBD will be worth just a couple of cents.
With Bitshares I still can't make my mind. Dan Larimer is one of the architects of the platform, he also helped build Steem. After he left both Bitshares and Steem he now works on EOS. Why he quit these platforms I have no idea. Bitshares has a nice idea just like Steemt, the way its run is a different topic. Basically having an exchange on a blockchain is a wonderful thing. I've been using Bitshares for a while and sometimes I have trouble with the gateways​, so deposits and withdraws​ are not available 24/7. Is it a scamcoin? Maybe yes, maybe no, time will tell. Looking at​ the price action of bitUSD we can see that it's not really affected much by the market, but again this may be a sign that the coin is controlled.

https://coinmarketcap.com/currencies/bitusd/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69081.27
ETH 3757.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68